Apple, Cheddar, and Turkey Meatballs


I originally found this recipe on a A Year of CrockPotting, but, as I often do, I decided to modify the recipe for a shorter cooking time. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect; neither Ryan nor I are big fans of meatballs let alone fruit-and-meat-balls, but this recipe intrigued me.

They were excellent! The sharp cheddar mixes well with the tartness of the fruit, and the texture was perfect. We were both very pleased and ate a ton! The nice thing is there was still plenty leftover for lunch and they reheated really well too. This recipe will definitely go into our regular rotation; four stars.

Apple, Cheddar, and Turkey Meatballs

1 pound lean ground turkey breast
1 egg
1 medium apple, peeled and shredded
½ cup 2% cheddar cheese, shredded
⅓ cup dried cranberries
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon onion powder

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Using an ice cream scoop, shape into balls, and place on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake for 20 minutes, flip meatballs, and bake for 15 more minutes, or until browned. For extra browning, broil for 1-2 minutes.

Source: A Year of CrockPotting
20 servings | 1 POINT

March 31, 2009. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Jessica replied:

    Those look wonderful!

  2. matt replied:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  3. Jessica replied:

    Those look really, really good. Apples + cheese + turkey? That can’t be bad. I’m making a note to try this, thanks!

  4. Amy I. replied:

    Hello! I just came across your blog from the list of participants for Adopt a Blogger (I’m a newbie too). I’m enjoying looking through your posts, I’ve been doing WW too and I haven’t found many other blogs with great-looking food with points values already calculated. I added these meatballs to the to-do list I keep on my blog, anything with fruit and cheese together is one of my weaknesses :)

  5. Liz replied:

    Thanks, Amy. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog, and I hope you’ll let me know how the meatballs turn out once you make them. I am really looking forward to being mentored and participating in Adopt a Blogger!

  6. Amy I. replied:

    Hi Liz, finally made these tonight. So, so, so yummy. Will definitely be making them again. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Liz replied:

    I’m so glad you liked them, Amy!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

