Roast Asparagus with Shaved Parmesan


Ryan isn’t much of a vegetable-eater. When we first met, the closest thing to a serving of vegetables he got was in the form of the vegetable oil his dinner was fried in. Sometimes he might have eaten part of a side salad that came with his entree if we were eating out, but even that was a stretch. If I suggested making something that contained veggies, he would immediately make a face and say he would have PBJ instead. Even as he began experimenting with new cuisines and dishes, he would still avoid vegetables at all costs. Since we primarily ate separately or at a restaurant where we could each order our own meals, this wasn’t much of a concern for me.

As the primary cook since we moved in together last Fall, I have not really altered my way of cooking all that much. I mean, we have tried tons of new dishes, but I decided that I would not omit vegetables from dishes to appease him. For example, I usually add onions and peppers to spaghetti sauce to bulk it up. At first he would just pick around the vegetables. Gradually he warmed up to the idea of trying them, and now it’s been quite a while since I saw a pile of veggies on his plate at the end of a meal.

That said, he has not warmed at all to the idea of eating a side of vegetables. If I can mix them in to something, he’ll likely eat it, but if I put a few green beans or a couple pieces of zucchini on his plate as a side, he resists with the fervor of a child whose parents are forcing him to eat his peas. Every now and then I sneak some of whatever veggie I’ve made onto his plate just to test him, but it has yet to go over well. His typical response is, “Oh, I think you gave me your plate.” When I tell him I didn’t, he says, “Hm. It seems there is something green on my plate; that must have been a mistake.” Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to keep trying with the hopes that maybe in five more years he’ll be a vegetable-lover. A girl can dream, can’t she?

In the meantime, I always try to make something green for myself at dinner but find that I’m less than creative when it comes to vegetables. My standard solution is to stick some frozen variety into the microwave. The thing I like about frozen vegetables is that they don’t go bad if I don’t use them right away. The problem is that I get bored eventually because I stick to the same three or four things over and over. I just don’t really find the motivation to do something fancy for a dish that only I am going to eat, but I need to get out of my rut.

In trying to expand my repertoire, and as an attempt to use up some asparagus that I had leftover from the Garden Risotto, I browsed through some recipes on Weight Watcher’s Plan Manager before settling on Roast Asparagus with Shaved Parmesan. I’m not the world’s biggest asparagus fan; it’s one of those vegetables I can eat every now and then but not something I eat frequently. I haven’t ever had it and though, “Wow, that’s really good.” I hadn’t thought that until this recipe, I should say. I’m not sure what made the asparagus taste so differently when roasted, but it was very good. The texture was exactly how I wanted it – softened but not mushy. The parmesan shavings added a nice sharpness to the dish, but I think the roasted asparagus could easily stand on its own. The best part is that this was a really simple recipe that took virtually no prep time. Now I have no excuses for not adding a little variety (and fresh vegetables!) to my menu.

Roast Asparagus with Shaved Parmesan

1 ½ pounds asparagus, tough stems snapped off
1 ½ teaspoons olive oil
⅛ teaspoon salt
⅛ teaspoon black pepper
1 ounce Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 425ºF.

Spread asparagus in a single layer on a nonstick baking sheet; drizzle with oil. Roast, shaking pan once or twice during cooking, until asparagus is fork-tender, about 10 to 15 minutes (varies greatly depending on thickness of spears).

Remove from oven and arrange asparagus on a serving plate; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Using a paring knife or microplane, cut paper-thin slices of cheese and arrange over asparagus. Yields 1/4 of asparagus and cheese per serving.

Source: Weight Watchers
4 servings | 1 POINT

May 26, 2009. recipes.

8 Comments

  1. Lauryn replied:

    This post is hysterical because I know exactly how you feel! My boyfriend eats no cooked vegetables whatsoever. He will eat lettuce and tomato, cucumber is pushing it, and once in a blue moon he will eat raw carrots. That’s it. I, on the other hand, love veggies and eat them at virtually every meal. It is so tough trying to make meals that don’t include any veggies and I will never understand why he is so anti-veg!!!

  2. Jessica replied:

    I don’t think I have ever had roasted asparagus, gonna have to give it a try.

  3. Sara replied:

    I love roasted asparagus. I could eat a whole plate of them with some parm shavings! I think it is so funny that you have to sneak vegetables into Ryan’s meals :)

  4. applec replied:

    Asparagus is one of my favorites…roasted, added to omelets/frittatas… love asparagus. Pairing it with lemon is always nice as well.

  5. nick replied:

    Beautiful picture on this one!

  6. Mary replied:

    I love roasted asparagus….it is so great in an omelette…yum :).

  7. Elyse replied:

    Ryan sounds hysterical. At least he’s come a long way :) This asparagus sounds delicious. Man oh man, how I adore roasted asparagus. I’m definitely going to get some next time I’m at the grocery store!

  8. Mandy replied:

    That looks so good! I love asparagus and my husband is the same way.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

