Broccoli-Bacon Salad


After last week’s tirade about mayonnaise “salads”, you may be surprised to find none other than a broccoli “salad” with a mayonnaise-based dressing. I’m not sure what exactly drew me to this recipe; I guess I was trying to reach my mayo quota for the year all in one week!

A group of friends, Ryan, and I get together once a month for a game night, and each month a different couple hosts. Last time we hosted, I made pork souvlaki with tzatziki sauce and blueberry muffins. This past Friday, it was our pleasure to host again, and, as we all know, there is nothing better than a cookout in the summer, so we grilled hamburgers and hot dogs. I also decided to serve some typical picnic-type foods (read: mayonnaise-based salads that come in cartons at the grocery store). Since it was quite the hectic week for me, I took a lot of help from the deli section at Publix, but I did decide to whip up one side myself. I thought we needed something green, and, really, what better way to serve a veggie than covered in mayonnaise?

Seriously, though, I really enjoyed this broccoli salad. I can’t say I’ve ever had broccoli salad before, but if they are all like this, I will definitely be more willing to try it in the future. This one mixes my favorite vegetable with everyone’s favorite food: bacon. How can you go wrong? As you may be able to tell from the picture, the dressing is very light, not at all overpowering. The dressing isn’t a heavy, thick sauce; it just provides a little bit of zing and flavor to the crunchy broccoli and water chestnuts. If you’re looking for something to bring to a picnic or cookout sometime this summer, I highly recommend this dish. It is much healthier than your typical “salad” and tastes great. The other really nice thing about this dish is that, more than likely, you have most of the ingredients already, and it will take less than 5 minutes to prepare (if you cheat and use bagged broccoli florets like I did).

Broccoli-Bacon Salad

1 clove garlic, minced
¼ cup mayonnaise
¼ cup light sour cream
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
1 teaspoon sugar
4 cups broccoli florets, chopped
8 ounces canned water chestnuts, diced
3 tablespoons bacon pieces
ground black pepper, to taste

Whisk garlic, mayonnaise, sour cream, vinegar, and sugar in a large bowl. Add broccoli, water chestnuts, bacon, and pepper; stir to combine with the dressing.

Source: Eating Well
6 servings | 3 POINTS

July 13, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Rachel in NC replied:

    I love broccoli salad, but I’ve never had it with water chestnuts. I bet they added a nice crunch.

  2. Heather Damron replied:

    Yum. I love broccoli salad. I’m for sure trying this one!

  3. sara replied:

    well if it has bacon in it then it couldn’t possibly be bad. I don’t think I have ever had a broccoli salad like this, it sure does look good. Perfect alongside a plate of grilled meat!

  4. April in CT replied:

    Yummy! My grandmother used to make a salad like this with the addition of raisins and it was awesome. Thanks for the reminder because I had forgotten all about it! I’ll be trying this one out on my hubby (AKA Mr. Picky Pants) soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

