Basil Chicken


Whether it’s the movie “Food, Inc.“, “How’d That Get On My Plate?” on Food Network, or the vegetable garden on the White House lawn, where our food is coming from and how it’s getting to us are becoming topics of conversation I’m hearing more and more. This is not a subject in which I consider myself to be well-versed, so I will instead refer you to Erin’s site, I Walk In This World, where she has an entire page devoted specifically to ethical eating. Another great post about local food production comes from Nick at imafoodblog. Now, to be honest, I am not keen on the picture of a lamb below the picture of the meat on the grill, that’s putting too much of a face on my dinner, but otherwise, he offers great information about seeking out local farms. While I am not an expert, nor do I have all the answers, I get the gist that eating locally is better. Better for you, better for the environment, better all around. And, what is more local (and fresh!) than from your own garden? That is the idea behind Grown Your Own, a twice-monthly blogging event to showcase the foods grown in your own garden. When Amy at Playing House posted about this a few weeks ago, I was intrigued.

Now, living in an apartment with a small deck, I don’t have much room for growing my own produce or herbs, but I do have a small pot of basil alongside some cacti and flowers. I decided that if I was going to grow one edible thing, it would be basil because basil is so versatile and is also the only herb I really hate using the dried version of. It’s also much more economical to buy a basil plant that replenishes itself versus spending $2 for a tiny little plastic carton of fresh herbs in my produce department. The only problem with this is that I now have an abundance of basil staring at me, waiting to be used. While I love basil and was sure I would just use gobs and gobs of it, I haven’t used it once. I decided to purposely seek out a recipe that would allow me to use up my basil, and I found this Basil Chicken recipe.

I’m not sure why I didn’t think of it sooner since almost every time we go for Thai food, I get the Thai Basil Chicken. It has to be one of my favorite meals ever. I love the sweetness of the basil with the salty, spiciness of the sauce. I have tried to recreate the recipe at home using a recipe from Martha Stewart but haven’t been able to really capture the right flavors of the dish. Until now, that is.

While my finished dish didn’t end up looking anything like the picture of the original recipe, it was absolutely delicious. I was nervous that I had done something wrong because I wasn’t getting a nice brown color to my sauce, but maybe that is because I used regular soy sauce instead of black soy sauce. I did make a few modifications to the recipe such as adding green bell pepper and using red pepper flakes in place of the jalapeno seeds. I really like things spicy, but Ryan has a lower heat tolerance than I do so I wanted to err on the side of caution by omitting the jalapeno seeds. Once I tasted the sauce, I felt it could use a bit more spice, so I added the crushed red pepper flakes. If you wanted a sweeter, less spicy sauce, you could omit both and still have great flavor. I also decided to julienne the larger basil leaves instead of leaving them whole just because I wanted to make sure the basil flavor was well-dispersed.

Ryan and I both agreed this was delicious. He wished there was a bit more sauce to add to the rice, but we were both surprised how flavorful the chicken was given such a short cooking time. I also want to mention that I got to test out my new rice cooker for this dish, and I really don’t know how I lived without one! I have always had such a hard time getting brown rice to cook to the right texture, and the rice cooker worked like a charm. Pretty good for a rice cooker we bought using Dave and Buster’s tickets, huh?

Basil Chicken

1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 small onion, thinly sliced
1 medium green bell pepper, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 small chicken breast, thinly sliced
2 small jalapenos, thinly sliced
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, optional
2 tablespoons soy sauce
¼ cup fish sauce
1 cup fresh basil, julienned
black pepper, to taste

Prepare the ingredients as instructed.

Heat a wok until its surface is smoking hot. Swirl in the oil to coat the wok surface.

Wait a few seconds for the oil to heat, then stir in the onion and bell pepper. Saute for 1 to 2 minutes; add garlic.

Stir another 15 to 20 seconds before adding the chicken.

Stir-fry 3 to 5 minutes, or until most of the chicken has changed color on the outside and is no longer pink.

Toss in the jalapenos and crushed red pepper flakes. Sprinkle soy sauce over the mixture and stir-fry for another 15 to 20 seconds.

Add fish sauce, then stir in the fresh basil. Toss well.

Stir-fry another 1/2 to 1 minute, or until the basil is wilted and the chicken cooked through.

Sprinkle with pepper.

Stir and transfer to a serving dish, or spoon directly over individual plates of steamed brown rice.

Source: ZestyCook
4 servings | 5 POINTS

July 29, 2009. ZestyCook.

8 Comments

  1. Amy I. replied:

    Ok, hang on a sec…you got a rice cooker at Dave & Buster’s!??!?! I haven’t been there in years, so I don’t know what the prizes are like, but for some reason that strikes me as hilarious and awesome. Love it!!

    In other news, yay for basil chicken! This looks delish, and right up my alley. I’m about to post a slew of Thai dishes I’ve been cooking, yum. So glad to have a familiar “face” participating in Grow Your Own. Thanks for joining in!

  2. Fat Girl Eats replied:

    Okay, YUM. I’m totally going to have to make this.

    Not that M will eat it, but I’ll totally love it.

  3. Allison replied:

    sounds delicious!

  4. Tomilyn replied:

    I’ve been doing the Eat Local challenge for a few days now, and while really hard its crazy how far away most of our food comes from.
    If you have a lot of basil, you should make some pesto. Also, as someone keeping her own small container garden, I have found oregano is pretty easy to grow as well.

  5. burpexcuzme replied:

    Wow this dish sounds delicious! It’s from Zestycook! no wonder it sounded so familiar…I’ve made this before, albeit with Thai bird chilis!

  6. applec replied:

    That sounds good. I have my own basil growing and it smells wonderful. I love using it in my dishes.

  7. Andrea replied:

    Basil and chicken is one of my favorite Thai dishes, it has so much flavor. It sounds like your basil is doing well! You can use it on pizza, in pesto, lemonade, all sorts of things. Have fun with it, and thanks for sharing your post with Grow Your Own!

  8. Claudia replied:

    I try to eat local, and with produce it works fairly well, but combine that with organically raised meats, free range, etc. and it’s difficult. Here at least. Even shrimp, which are actually farmed locally, but when I go to the natural foods store, they’re brought in from Vietnam or Japan, frozen. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

