CEiMB: Creamed Spinach


Oh, my dear CEiMB friends, I have failed you. It was my week to pick, and I’m sorry to report that I led us astray. I chose this creamed spinach recipe after seeing it paired so nicely with Porcini Crusted Filet Mignon and Herbed Mashed Potatoes (found on page 172 of “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”). Ellie’s picture is beautiful and looks delicious, and my original plan was to replicate the whole meal as a special treat for Ryan. Unfortunately, that did not come to fruition and instead we were left with a slop of green mush alongside our Soy-Ginger Glazed Salmon (which I would highly recommend!) and boxed wild rice.

I like spinach. In fact, I almost love it. I add handfuls of it to salads. I enjoy it tossed with pasta. I do not, I learned tonight, like it creamed. The flavor was great; the texture was awful. I’m not sure if it was my cooking or this recipe, but neither of us made it past one bite. Maybe part of the problem is that I subbed fresh spinach for frozen, and it’s possible it got overcooked. I’m not usually a fan of frozen spinach, so I thought this would be better. But if this was better, then I am really scared of what it was like otherwise.

So, anyway, I really hope that those of you who cooked along with me did not hate this as much as we did. Blech.

After such a horrible review, I’m not sure any of you will be rushing out to try this, so I’m going to just link to the original recipe, which I followed exactly with the exception of halving the recipe and using 10 ounces fresh spinach in place of frozen. If you are a creamed spinach fan, I apologize for my harsh words against the dish, and you may find Ellie’s recipe, which I am sure is good for those people who like creamed spinach to begin with, here: Ellie Krieger’s Creamed Spinach.

March 30, 2011. recipes.

6 Comments

  1. Peggy replied:

    I’m so sorry yours was not good. I am about to post mine right now. I used frozen spinach. Mine turned out good, but I just didn’t care for it. You win some you lose some. But it was a good pick!

  2. Bri replied:

    Wow, I’m so sorry you hated your pick! It’s the worst when that happens; I can understand how you feel. That said, I want you to know that I actually quite liked this!!

    I was skeptical of the frozen spinach, too, so I halved the recipe. I felt like the flavor was great, much better than I expected, and the texture really, really did not bother me even though I was terrified of it initially! So please don’t beat yourself up about the pick, because I’m really glad you chose it. Now I know I’m not scared of creamed spinach! True, I couldn’t get the boys to like it, but I can’t even get them to like homemade mac and cheese, so obviously they’re just crazy :)

  3. Mary replied:

    oh no..it is the worst when you don’t love your own pick. I didn’t get a chance to make it over here (but I love spinach too) so I am anxious to read all the other reviews and check it out.

  4. Joanne replied:

    We loved this dish. I was shocked because I’m not big on soggy. But I didn’t detect any nasty texture. It was full of flavor and just perfect.
    As for the photo, wish I had seen Ellie’s photo because the one on the foodnetwork was a complete turn off. You however, did a beautiful job with the pic.

  5. Chaya replied:

    I am glad you selected this. We were very happy with it. Creamed spinach is one of my favorites and this one was very good.

    I am sorry, you did not like your own pick, but know, there is someone out here who loves it.

  6. Kayte replied:

    Don’t be too hard on yourself…some of us really liked it! I would not be one of those, but some did! I like spinach raw or barely wilted, so I didn’t try it, I chickened out. I will make the next one you choose, okay?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

