Banana-Oatmeal Bread


Bananas. You either love them or hate them, and I don’t really know anyone whose feelings on the subject are anywhere in between. I happen to love them. As long as they are still greenish yellow. As soon as the first brown spot appears, no thank you. Unfortunately, Ryan is the same way. This means if any bananas survive past a couple days around here, they are suddenly marked as inedible. The upside to this is that ripe bananas are perfect for banana “ice cream” or banana bread, so when I found myself with three browning bananas, I got to baking.

If you’ve been around since the very beginning of this blog, and let’s be honest, none of you have been because, well, I was basically talking to myself for the first couple months, then you might have seen a post for Banana Bread from Cooking Light. I guess you could call that my go-to recipe since I have made it several times over the past couple years, but this time I was itching to try something different. For some reason I wanted to add oatmeal, and I remembered seeing this recipe posted on Joy the Baker. I was shocked to learn that the recipe is actually from Weight Watchers; anyone who follows her blog knows how decadent and delicious-looking her recipes are! Once I realized this recipe was “healthy,” I took that as confirmation that I *needed* to make this bread. Today. And so I did.

I did substitute a little more than half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly because I don’t mess around with baked goods. End result? Yum! I think this was a little denser than the Cooking Light recipe, but that could be because I used the wheat flour. And, honestly, I don’t mind the density. It certainly wasn’t dry, but it wasn’t overly moist and light either. Again, that isn’t really a problem for me, but it’s worth noting in case it is important to you. Flavor-wise, however, I think this recipe is much better than the other – there is definitely a pronounced banana flavor which gives this one a bit more sweetness even though this recipe has 1/2 the sugar of the Cooking Light version. I especially enjoyed the addition of the oats. While they aren’t overwhelming, they do add a nice texture.

Do you have a tried and true banana bread recipe? Share the link!

Banana-Oatmeal Bread

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 large egg + 2 egg whites
3 medium bananas
1 cup rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Add oil and eggs; mix thoroughly.

In a smaller bowl, mash bananas with a potato masher or fork. Add bananas and oatmeal to batter.

Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray. Pour batter into pan and bake until top of loaf is firm to touch, 45 to 55 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes. Flip out and cool on a wire rack for another 10 minutes.

Source: Weight Watchers
yields 1 loaf

April 5, 2011. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Maris (In Good Taste) replied:

    I am the exact same way about banana. Green is good-brown spots-no good! That is too funny. That said, your banana bread looks fabulous and I wish I had a slice right now with my coffee!

  2. Amy replied:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE banana bread. I will definitely be trying this one. And I love bananas when they’re just turning from green to yellow, but I will eat them with spots as long as they’re not fully brown.

  3. R @ Learning As I Chop replied:

    I love the idea of mixing wholewheat and regular flour. I used that mix in my baked goods too, although sometimes find that just using one or the other (even if it’s solely wholewheat) works best.

  4. Heather replied:

    I made these this week as muffins :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

