CEiMB: Crispy Cajun Fish Fingers


OK, I fudged a little on this week’s CEiMB recipe. We were supposed to be making the Crispy Chicken Fingers that Jennifer of The Rookie Baker chose, but I had fish thawing that needed to be used up and modified the recipe slightly. At first, my plan was just to use the fish in the chicken finger recipe, but then I remembered that Ellie has a recipe for Crispy Fish Fingers (apparently she really likes that name!). So my Crispy Cajun Fish Fingers are an amalgamation of the two recipes. And I served them alongside kale chips for a healthy twist on Fish and Chips. This meal was so, so, so, so good! I will definitely make the fish sticks again, and I cannot believe I waited so long to try these kale chips. YUM!

For the kale chips, I’m not going to post them separately for two reasons. First, they are so very, very easy to make that it seems like a stretch to even call it a recipe. Second, they’ve been featured on dozens and dozens of blogs that did a much better job with pictures and explanations than I ever could; a quick internet search will lead you to some stunning and informative posts. To make mine, I tossed about 3 cups of fresh kale with 2 teaspoons olive oil and a little Emeril’s Essence (you could just use salt and pepper or your favorite blend). Then I spread the kale in a single layer on a baking sheet and baked at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes, until lightly browned. If you use full leaves instead of the bagged, chopped stuff like I did, you might have to bake it for closer to 10 minutes. I was wary of burning them so I was watching them like a hawk.

Just a small note about the fish recipe – I have listed below the actual amounts USED in the recipe (which is how I calculated the nutritional information) but you will want to increase the amount of flour and crushed cereal slightly so that there is some excess to allow for even coating. I actually placed a whole egg, ~1/4 cup flour, and 1 cup cereal in my bowls for breading.

Crispy Cajun Fish Fingers

1/2 pound wild turbot or other white fish fillets, seasoned with Cajun seasoning if desired
1/2 large egg
2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
3/4 cup toasted corn cereal (like Chex) or cornflakes

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Cut the fish fillets into 4 X 1-inch strips.

Prep your three breading stations:
-Pour flour onto a place or shallow dish.
-Beat egg in a shallow bowl.
-Put the cereal in a sealed plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin. (I just used my hands to crumble the cereal.) Transfer the crumbs to a shallow dish.

A few pieces at a time, dip the fish into the flour mixture, dusting off the excess. Dip the fish in the egg and then the cereal crumbs.

Arrange on the baking sheet and continue until all of the fish is breaded. Spray the top lightly with cooking spray. Bake until golden and cooked through, about 10 minutes.

Makes 2 servings, 4 fish sticks each

April 7, 2011. recipes.

8 Comments

  1. Bri replied:

    Yup, I finally tried the kale chips a couple months back, and I was pretty crazy for them. The chicken was great; I actually made it at the same time as the (dreaded) creamed spinach, and I served both with roasted asparagus for a nice, healthy meal. Your fish was a good variation!

  2. Kayte replied:

    Oh, I love this post…2 for 1!! I hadn’t thought of using this for fish, but you know what, I will try that, too. We loved it. Your photo is great and those kale chips were perfect to serve with that.

  3. Peggy replied:

    I love the idea of using this recipe for fish. I just finished eating my chicken fingers for lunch with hubby and we loved them. Very crunchy! Yours look delicious.

  4. Maris (In Good Taste) replied:

    This looks so delicious! I love the twist of chicken fingers!

  5. The Rookie Baker replied:

    Loved that you used fish instead of chicken…I want to try that as well! What a great way to trick my toddler into eating fish…he’d never know the difference. The kale chips look delicious as well. Glad you enjoyed these!

  6. Tasha @ Voracious replied:

    YUM! Those fish fingers look so incredibly crispy, what a perfect coating you have put on the outside. I will definitely be making this – thanks for the recipe. :-)

  7. Danica replied:

    For some reason it won’t let me comment on your post above. I am going to completely miss your posts Liz and cooking with you on CEiMB. Hopefully you are still game for meeting up next month in Atlanta.

    Take care of you!

    Danica

  8. Peggy replied:

    Cannot comment on the post above, but we will miss you in CEiMB!! I hope you are okay and that you come back when you are ready. We’ll all still be here! Take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

