Minestrone

I forgot how filling soup can be! I have never had success with making any kind of vegetable soup in the past, but this one was awesome. I ended up with five giant servings-probably about 2 cups each-so I ended up eating it for days but never got tired of it. For my next batch I will probably leave out the kidney beans as they got overcooked and mushy without adding anything to the flavor. I might also consider leaving out the orzo to reduce the POINTS value further, but otherwise I wouldn’t change anything. Even though this soup almost ruined my computer when my cat tripped me causing me to spill soup all over my open laptop, I still give it five stars.

Minestrone

1 tablespoon bacon pieces
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
2 medium celery stalks, chopped
1 4-inch rosemary sprig
¼ cup basil, chopped
¼ cup parsley, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups kale, chopped
1 15-ounce can kidney beans, drained
9 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
4 ounces uncooked orzo
1 teaspoon salt

Heat bacon and oil over medium heat in a large soup pot for 2 – 3 minutes.

Add onion, carrot, celery, rosemary, basil, parsley, garlic, and kale. Cover and cook until vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.

Add tomatoes, and cook over medium-high heat for 3 – 5 minutes.

Stir in beans, broth, and salt. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove rosemary sprig and stir in orzo. Continue to simmer for 15 minutes.

Source: “Joy of Cooking: All About Soups and Stews

5 servings | 5 POINTS

December 3, 2008. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

