Meatloaf with Barley

My mother makes amazing meatloaf, and until recently, I’ve been scared to try any other meatloaf. A couple years ago I attempted to make meatloaf from an Alton Brown recipe, and it was my worst kitchen disaster to date. It was soupy, would not cook through, took forever to prepare, cost a ton in odd ingredients, and was completely unsalvageable. It was a wreck. Since my mom doesn’t make meatloaf very often anymore, and I was too scared to try making it again myself, I started ordering it at restaurants. I am in love with Cracker Barrel’s meatloaf.

So, alas, I was yet again inspired to try making meatloaf. I found a Weight Watchers recipe that seemed to incorporate the same basic elements of the Cracker Barrel meatloaf and gave it a try. Well, it turned out awesome. I used lean ground beef in place of the recommended turkey because the beef was on sale for half the price of the ground turkey, and since it’s so lean, it’s nearly the same calorie/fat content per ounce of meat as the turkey. My meatloaf didn’t turn out quite as “formed” as I thought it would, it seemed to crumble apart pretty easily, which may have been due to the use of beef in place of turkey since I know poultry is a little dryer. Otherwise, I would not have changed a thing. Ryan was skeptical about the ketchup because he hates ketchup, but we were both happy with the meal and excited about having the leftovers for lunch. Definitely five stars!

Meatloaf with Barley

20 ounces lean ground beef
2 teaspoons canola oil
1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 large egg
1 cup cooked barley
⅔ cup ketchup
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
¼ teaspoon dried oregano
2 sprays cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add green pepper and onion; cook, stirring occasionally, until pepper is tender, about 7 minutes. Spoon vegetables into a large bowl; add egg, barley, 1/4 cup of ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper and oregano and mix well. Crumble meat into vegetable mixture; gently mix to combine (do not knead or meatloaf will be tough).

Coat a 9- X 5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray. Spoon meat mixture into prepared pan in an even layer. Spread remaining ketchup over meatloaf. Bake until center of meatloaf is thoroughly cooked, about 50 to 60 minutes.

Remove meatloaf from oven and let stand at room temperature for 10 minutes to absorb juices in pan. Slice into six pieces and serve. Yields 1 piece per serving.

Source: Weight Watchers
6 servings | 5 POINTS

December 4, 2008. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Larry replied:

    Wow, that is much healthier than my meatloaf! Maybe I’ll give it a try sometime.

  2. Jess replied:

    my husband eats no vegetables – so I put the onion and pepper in the processor and work it right into the meatloaf. He has no idea ;)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

