Ginger Lime Spiked Cranberry Sauce

Cranberry sauce is a staple on our table for any holiday meal. In fact, it’s something Ryan and I eat pretty regularly throughout the year as well. There is an area of contention surrounding cranberry sauce though. You see, he prefers the jelled kind that comes out looking like the can whereas I’ve grown up with my mom’s homemade cranberry salad.

As this was the first holiday meal I prepared all on my own, I decided to try a new recipe for cranberry sauce hoping that it would satisfy both of us. It turned out beautiful! Not too runny, a nice thick texture, and a gorgeous hue of red. My family adored it as did Ryan. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a big fan. As soon as it started cooking, I worried that I had added too much ginger as the smell of it overwhelmed the kitchen. I really like ginger but found there to be too much of it in this dish. I just didn’t care for the tartness of the cranberries mixed with the spice of the ginger. I was definitely in the minority though as everyone else loved it. I also want to note that I had to cook it much longer than the recommended 20 minutes to get it to a thickness I approved of. Otherwise this recipe was very easy and convinced me to try my hand at cranberry sauce again in the future instead of picking up the can of jelled stuff. My mom would have given it five stars, but I gave it three.

Ginger Lime Spiked Cranberry Sauce

2 cups fresh cranberries
¾ cup sugar
¾ cup water
¼ cup lime juice
2 tablespoons dark rum
1 1-inch knob ginger, grated
zest of 1 lime

Place the cranberries, water, juice, sugar, ginger and zest in a medium saucepan and, stirring occasionally, cook for 20 minutes over medium high heat to reduce and thicken. Remove from heat and stir in the rum. Serve hot or cold.

Source: Coconut & Lime

January 1, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

