Sauteed Scallops on Lemon Fettuccine

I was really excited about this dish. I’ve had half of a one pound bag of scallops from Trader Joe’s sitting in my freezer for a while now. Since Ryan isn’t crazy about scallops, I was waiting for a night on my own and the perfect recipe to enjoy them in. Unfortunately, this was not that perfect recipe. Or, perhaps, I just didn’t execute the recipe properly. Either way, this was a big let down.

First of all, I overcooked my pasta so we were off to a bad start. Second, I was expecting the scallops to kind of brown in the pan, but that never happened. I’m not sure where it all went wrong. When I mixed the scallops with the flour mixture, it seemed a little on the slimy side, but I thought that was normal. I cooked the scallops longer than the two minutes recommended by the recipe, but instead of browning they just seemed to create a slurry of white foamy bubbles in my pan. Perhaps it was because I used frozen scallops that released too much moisture in the pan. I use frozen seafood almost exclusively to save money and have never had problems before, but who knows. I removed my non-browned scallops, and added all the other ingredients. I had to add a splash of water because everything was kind of clumping together thanks to the flour. Then I mixed the pasta and scallops back in with the sauce.

At this point I was a little nervous because the dish just really didn’t look that great, but I was still hoping for the best. Unfortunately, it was pretty much just a gummy mess. Overall, the flavors were fine if not a little on the bland side, but the texture was not great and it just really didn’t look very appetizing. At first I was thinking I would try making it again with special care not to overcook the noodles and fresh scallops, but I’m just not sure the flavors were strong enough to warrant a second try. It definitely wasn’t inedible (just not the true culinary treat I was hoping for), so it gets two stars.

Sauteed Scallops on Lemon Fettuccine

⅛ cup all purpose white flour
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
½ pound scallops
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon light butter
1 ⅓ ounces vodka
½ teaspoon lemon zest
1 ½ tablespoons lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
4 ounces whole wheat fettuccine, cooked
⅛ cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Combine first 3 ingredients in a large zip-top heavy-duty plastic bag. Add scallops to bag, and seal; shake to coat.

Heat oil and margarine in a large nonstick skillet over high heat. Add scallops; cook 2 minutes on each side or until lightly browned and done. Remove scallops from pan; keep warm.

Reduce heat to medium; add vodka, lemon rind, lemon juice, and garlic, and cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; add pasta, and toss gently to coat.

Divide pasta mixture evenly among 2 individual plates; top with scallops. Sprinkle each serving with 1 tablespoon cheese.

Source: Cooking Light

2 servings | 8 POINTS

January 10, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

