Asian Vegetable Pasta

This dish was inspired by a recipe I got through a e-newsletter, but by the time I served it I’m not sure it was much like the original at all. (The recipe I’ve provided is what I made, but the link to the original is at the bottom.)

I have to say, this is unlike anything I’ve ever tried before, and the flavor combination took some getting used to. I completely changed the vegetables in the dish to suit ones that I like and had on hand. I also made some slight modifications after tasting the sauce during cooking to better cater to my palate. I don’t personally like the strong vinegar taste present when the ration was 1:1 with soy sauce, so I added more soy sauce to tone down the vinegar and ramped up the spicy factor by doubling the red pepper flakes.

In the end, I really liked it, but Ryan hated it. He gave it a valiant two bites, then reluctantly admitted he just didn’t like it. He said the peanut butter was overpowering and just didn’t jive well on pasta for him. In other words, I probably won’t be making it again, but I definitely recommend it. It’s got a nice balance of sweet/salty/spicy, and it’s very rich and filling. I also think it would be great as an all-in-one-dish meal with some diced chicken in it. I give it four stars.

Asian Vegetable Pasta

4 cups whole wheat spaghetti, cooked
⅓ cup reduced fat peanut butter
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
5 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
2 medium carrots, shredded
2 celery stalks, sliced
1 small onion, sliced
1 cup bell pepper, sliced

In a skillet coated with cooking spray, saute onion and bell pepper for 3 minutes. Stir in carrots and celery; cook for 1 minute or until bite-tender. Turn heat to low and add cooked pasta; keep warm.

In a small saucepan, combine the peanut butter, vinegar, soy sauce, brown sugar and pepper flakes. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Pour over pasta mixture and toss to coat.

Source: Taste of Home
4 servings | 5 POINTS

January 16, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

