Lime Chicken


It was impossible to take a pretty picture of this chicken; I did my best. Here’s the problem: I have a very hard time cooking in a slow cooker without burning things. It seems fool-proof, the CrockPot. I mean, it should be the easiest type of cooking because you just throw everything in and walk away. Admittedly I typically prefer all my meat on the more “well-done” side, but I never have problems with routinely burning things except when I’m using the CrockPot. As I plan to start using the slow cooker two nights a week while I’m in class until 8pm, I find the prospect of eating overcooked food for the next fifteen weeks rather dim. Any tips or suggestions? For this recipe I used fresh chicken (not frozen) and it was cooking for right at 6 hours when I got home from class to see it was already quite brown.

Aside from that, this recipe was just not a winner. Despite my recent affection for mustard, I still can’t consider myself a huge fan, and this was definitely too mustard-y. I felt like the other flavors were just overwhelmed and didn’t stand out. Ryan and I both ate it but agreed we would prefer not to make it again. I would give it two stars.

Lime Chicken

2 boneless, skinless chicken breast
1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons lime juice
½ cup honey mustard

Combine soy sauce, garlic, lime juice, and mustard in a small bowl.

Place chicken in slow cooker, and pour sauce over the top.

Cook on low for 7-9 hours or on high for 4-5 for frozen chicken. If your chicken is fresh, check it after 3 hours on high or 6 hours on low.

Source: Kitchen Parade by way of A Year of CrockPotting
2 servings | 8 POINTS

January 26, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. limeandlemon replied:

    simple and delicious … nicely posted … Laila … http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. Brooke replied:

    I would try adding some extra liquid to keep it from browning too fast. It sounds like you have a powerful crockpot!

  3. Liz replied:

    Thanks, Brooke – I’ll try that. I have only cooked a couple things in it so far so it could be user error, but I’ll definitely keep in mind the suggestion to add more liquid.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

