Buffalo Chicken Soup

I have decided that soup is, hands down, the hardest thing to photograph. I have seen professional pictures of soups that just don’t even look that great so I’m feeling a little better about my own struggle with getting pictures of soup, but still… Luckily this soup does taste better than it looks! As I was ladling it out into my bowl, I just wasn’t sure what to expect. It sounded so yummy and I love all things Buffalo, but it just didn’t look all that appetizing. It was quite good though! I did add more Frank’s RedHot to my bowl because it wasn’t quite spicy enough, but I like that it can be seasoned “to taste” since everyone has different thresholds for heat. My only complaint is how many Points each serving was – 7 POINTS for a small bowl of soup isn’t exactly a great deal, in my opinion. I’m not sure the cheese added much, so I might try leaving it out should I make this again to save myself a couple Points. Otherwise I think I lightened the original recipe as much as possible so I’m not sure where else to cut back. It’s not something I see being added into rotation, but is definitely a good way to curb a Buffalo craving – 3 stars.

Buffalo Chicken Soup

2 tablespoons light butter
2 tablespoons all purpose white flour
4 ounces shredded chicken
½ medium onion, chopped
2 medium celery stalks, chopped
1 cup fat free milk
½ cup reduced sodium chicken broth
2 ounces reduced fat cheddar cheese, shredded
¼ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon celery seed
¼ cup hot sauce

Make a roux with the flour and butter by placing the butter in a small bowl in the microwave to melt (for about 25 seconds on high); then whisk in the flour. Set aside.

Add the chopped onion and celery and the shredded chicken to the CrockPot. Pour in the chicken broth and milk. Add the cheese and the spices.

Stir in the flour and butter mixture then the hot sauce.

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 3-4. The soup is done when the celery and onion reach desired tenderness and the flavors have melded.

Source: A Year of CrockPotting
2 servings | 7 POINTS

January 28, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. limeandlemon replied:

    sounds delicious .. i love soups and this is the first time i see such a recipe .. might just reduce the hot sauce .. cant take alot of it :-D … gonna try it soon .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. Liz replied:

    The nice thing about the recipe is that it can be customized to your taste, but I will say that the amount of hot sauce in the recipe leaves it more on the mild end. Good luck and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

