Char Siu Pork


As I mentioned before, I am going to be doing a lot more cooking in my CrockPot over the next fifteen weeks. The good news is, I finally broke my overcooked food curse!

With my schedule the way it is, I didn’t have eight hours to cook this, so I turned the heat to high and hoped cooking it for four hours would be OK. I was being really anal about checking it to make sure it wasn’t over-cooking, and around the three hour mark the pork was really tough. I knew I needed to be able to shred it with a fork, and that was just not happening. I started to think about what I could do if this didn’t turn out but ultimately just left it cooking, hoping it would turn out. After four hours, I took the pork out, and, to my surprise, it shredded easily and was very tender! I guess it just wasn’t done yet at 3 hours.

I did not serve the pork and sauce separately; I mixed the pork back in to the sauce after I added the broth. I liked that the meat had the chance to absorb some of the sauce. I paired it with quick-cooking brown rice for a fast, delicious meal. Ryan absolutely loved it. I tend to like my Asian foods a little less sweet, but the other flavors provided enough depth that I really enjoyed it. We will definitely keep this on CrockPot rotation – four stars.

Char Siu Pork

¼ cup low-sodium soy sauce
¼ cup hoisin sauce
3 tablespoons ketchup
3 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
2 teaspoons ginger root, peeled and grated
1 teaspoon sesame oil
½ teaspoon five-spice powder
2 pounds boneless Boston butt pork roast, trimmed
½ cup fat free chicken broth

Combine first 8 ingredients in a small bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Place in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add pork to bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator at least 2 hours, turning occasionally.

Place pork and marinade in an electric slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours (or high for 4 hours).

Remove pork from slow cooker using a slotted spoon; place on a cutting board or work surface. Cover with aluminum foil; keep warm.

Add broth to sauce in slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes or until sauce thickens.

Shred pork with 2 forks; serve with sauce.

Source: Cooking Light
8 servings | 5 POINTS

February 2, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

