Croque Monsieur


As I was trying to cut a slit into the bread to make the “pocket”, I was getting very frustrated. It’s possible that I threw chunks of crumbly bread into the trash can and exclaimed, “I don’t care how good these turn out, I will never make them again!” Fortunately, Ryan is too much of a gentleman to ever confirm or deny that story. After several failed attempts to make this mystical bread pocket, I just decided to slice the bread and make a regular sandwich. We then dipped the sandwiches in the egg mixture and fried them as directed.

This is when a light went off in my head, and I asked myself, “Why didn’t I just do this in the first place?!” The bread pocket seems unnecessary. Maybe I just need more practice or a different knife or different bread, but my bread was just breaking apart and crumbling everywhere. I’m not sure what the advantage of not slicing it all the way through is, but it worked fine that way.

As for the sandwich itself, I really enjoyed the texture. I think dipping it in the egg gave a little extra crunch which was nice and decadent. The full teaspoon of honey mustard was too much for me; I found the mustard to be overpowering, but Ryan loved it. I think this would also be a really yummy way to prepare a grilled cheese with an extra sharp cheddar. Once I gave up fighting with the bread, this was a quick and easy dinner that tasted much richer than the POINTS value. We’ll definitely be making these again; four stars.

Croque Monsieur

4 slices French bread, about 1 1/2 ounces each
4 teaspoons honey mustard
6 ounces deli ham
4 ounces reduced fat Swiss cheese
½ cup fat free milk
3 egg whites

Cut a slit in each bread slice to form a pocket. Spread 1 teaspoon honey mustard into each bread pocket. Divide ham and cheese evenly among bread pockets.

Combine milk and egg whites in a shallow bowl, stirring with a whisk. Dip sandwiches, 1 at a time, in milk mixture, turning to coat.

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add 2 sandwiches; cook 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Repeat procedure with remaining sandwiches.

Source: Cooking Light
4 servings | 5 POINTS

February 10, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. Sweetie Pie replied:

    I love Cooking Light recipes and I love a good croque monsieur. I may have to make some of these! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. Liz replied:

    Thanks for the comment :) You have an amazing story and are such an inspiration!

  3. Sweetie Pie replied:

    Aww, thanks! I’m enjoying your blog, and I’ll definitely be coming back to visit!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

