Mexican Casserole

I was admittedly a little skeptical of this recipe. I’m not sure why, but dishes layered with crescent rolls usually scare me off. This has really good reviews and looked easy enough for a night I would usually use the CrockPot so I decided to try it. I am so glad I did; it was amazing!

The original recipe just called for diced tomatoes, but when I was at the store they had these petite diced tomatoes in adobo sauce that I decided to use instead. I think the adobo sauce really made the dish. Even with it, I felt like it could have been a little spicier, and Ryan agreed even though he usually prefers a mild level of heat. The crescent rolls I was so hesitant to use added great texture and sweetness to the dish. My only complaint is that the bottom layer was pretty soggy so I might try just leaving them out next time since I don’t feel they added much and that would greatly cut down on points (without the bottom layer, it would be 5 points per serving).

We will definitely be making this again. It was a super easy, super quick, super tasty recipe that will provide us with some alternatives to the CrockPot! It definitely earned five stars.

Mexican Casserole

1 pound lean ground turkey
1 medium onion, chopped
1 packet taco seasoning
14.5 ounce diced tomatoes in adobo sauce
2 cans reduced fat crescent rolls
1 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook meat with onion until done, drain. Add taco seasoning, and tomatoes. Heat through. In a 9X13 casserole coated with cooking spray, spread out 1 can of crescents, sealing perforations. Spread meat mixture on top. Cover with cheese. Put second can of crescents on top. Bake 12-15 minutes or until crescents are golden.

Source: Weight Watchers Message Boards
8 servings | 7 POINTS

February 13, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

