CrockPot Chicken Cordon Bleu

Last summer I tried Chicken Cordon Bleu for the first time and fell in love. The recipe I typically use is a Weight Watchers recipe, and Ryan and I both adore it. It’s not incredibly complicated to make, but it is somewhat time-consuming. When I saw this recipe for Cordon Bleu in the CrockPot, I got really excited! Since I’m trying to cut down on my time in the kitchen but wanted to enjoy one of my favorite dishes, this seemed perfect.

It was not perfect though. I desperately wanted it to turn out, but it was just not anywhere near the recipe I usually use. The recipe does not originally call for honey mustard, but since I typically use it in my Cordon Bleu, I added it. Even with that, this recipe was completely flavorless. The chicken was really dry, the cheese was MIA, and the “sauce” from the soup was just blah. It wasn’t inedible by any means, but it’s not something I’ll make again. Two stars.

CrockPot Chicken Cordon Bleu

4 chicken breast, about 6 ounces each
4 teaspoons honey mustard
2 ounces honey ham
2 ounces reduced fat swiss cheese
1 can reduced fat cream of chicken soup
2 tablespoons fat free milk

Spray 4 quart crockpot with cooking spray. Pound chicken breasts flat. Spread 1 tsp honey mustard on one side of each chicken breast. Put a slice of the ham and a slice of the swiss cheese on the chicken breast and roll it up.

Place it into the crockpot, seam side down. Continue with the other pieces. It’s okay to stagger-stack the chicken.

Pour cream of chicken soup into crockpot. Pour milk over top. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4-5.

Source: A Year of CrockPotting
4 servings | 7 POINTS

February 16, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

