Spinach with Toasted Pine Nuts

Not only had I never cooked spinach before, I had never tried it before either. I mean, I’ve had it in things – like stuffed shells – but never on its own. I was making a soup that called for most of a bag of spinach and decided to finish off the bag by making some sort of sauteed spinach.

I think I may have overcooked my spinach slightly, or, at least, I’m not a fan of the overly mushy texture. I would have preferred it to have a bit more crunch. The flavor of the spinach itself wasn’t incredibly strong, but I did like the flavor combination of all the ingredients. The acidity matched the bitterness of the spinach well, and the pine nuts made the dish. They were buttery and crunchy and gave the dish a richness it wouldn’t have had otherwise.

I’m not sure I’ll be eating up spinach like Popeye now, but this was pretty good. Definitely worth trying if you are already a fan of spinach; I would give it three stars.

Spinach with Toasted Pine Nuts

6 ounces spinach
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon lemon zest
2 tablespoons pine nuts
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

In a small skillet over medium heat, add the pine nuts to the DRY pan. Cook for a few minutes, stirring frequently, until golden brown. Remove from the heat and set aside.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and stir constantly for 45 seconds then add the clean spinach, sea salt and pepper to taste. Stir frequently for 1 – 2 minutes until wilted.

Add the pine nuts, lemon zest and red wine vinegar then mix thoroughly. Serve immediately and enjoy.

Source: For the Love of Cooking
2 servings | 3 POINTS

February 17, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

