Jamaican Salmon


I was pretty skeptical about cooking salmon in the CrockPot, I must admit. I’ve never cooked anything in the slow cooker with foil before nor have I cooked fish in there so the two together was a totally new experience. I consider Stephanie at crockpot365 a pretty reliable source though so I decided to take a leap of faith.

Overall, it turned out great. The fish was perfectly cooked, flaky and moist, and I really enjoyed the flavor profile. It seemed like some of it was a little salty, which could mean I didn’t mix everything together properly. I probably won’t use as much salt in the rub next time because it was a little salty for me, and I like to err on the side of caution being able to add salt at the table. Otherwise I think it was really good, and something we will definitely make again–four stars.

Jamaican Salmon

1 fillet salmon
⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
⅛ teaspoon ground ginger
⅛ teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon onion powder
½ teaspoon garlic powder
2 teaspoons sugar
¼ teaspoon chipotle chile powder
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
⅛ teaspoon ground thyme
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon black pepper

Combine all of the spice rub ingredients in a bowl.

Spread out a length of foil, and put the fish in the middle of it.

Rub both sides of the fish with the dry rub.

Fold the foil over and make an enclosed packet.

Put the foil packet into the crockpot. Do not add any water. Cover and cook on low for 2 hours. The fish is done when it flakes easily with a fork.

Source: A Year of CrockPotting
2 servings | 7 POINTS

February 19, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. crockpot lady replied:

    yay! I’m so glad that it worked out well for you. I love fish in the Crock-Pot—there’s no fish smell!
    xox
    steph

  2. Liz replied:

    I’ve already bookmarked several of your other fish recipes to try again soon! I’m starting to use the CrockPot more recently and your site has been a great inspiration for new recipes :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

