Spicy Meatloaf


Ever since I made meatloaf a while back, I have been craving it again. I tried to implement “Meatloaf Mondays” but was met with some resistance; I guess Ryan isn’t as crazy about meatloaf as I am.

I have tons of different recipes bookmarked on delicious, but I found this one in Weight Watchers New Complete Cookbook. I modified it slightly by substituting green pepper for mushrooms, but I think it turned out really well. It wasn’t spicy in the least, at least it didn’t have a any heat to it. It was, however, spice-y, as in you could really taste the herbs in it. I guess I prefer my meatloaf a little more on the traditional side since this wasn’t my favorite, but Ryan liked this recipe better than the last.

Since the last recipe utilized a loaf pan, I wasn’t sure how this would work without it, but it actually seemed more successful this way. You form the loaf on a sheet pan, which I have since read is a better way to keep your meatloaf “formed” since it allows the juices to run out. I will attest to the fact that this recipe was far more formed and less crumbly than the last recipe. I’m not sure if that is totally due to the type of pan or just a difference in recipes, but it’s something to keep in mind.

Even though it wasn’t my favorite meatloaf recipe, it was still meatloaf and still good, so I would give it four stars.

Spicy Meatloaf

2 teaspoons canola oil
1 cup green bell pepper, chopped
1 cup onion, chopped
1 medium carrot, chopped
1 medium celery stalk, chopped
1 pound lean ground beef
½ cup quick cooking rolled oats
1 egg
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
4 cloves garlic, minced
½ teaspoon dried rosemary
⅛ teaspoon dried sage
½ teaspoon ground thyme
¼ teaspoon hot sauce
¼ cup ketchup

1. Preheat the oven to 350; spray a 9-inch-square baking pan with nonstick spray. In a large nonstick skillet, heat the oil. Saute the peppers, onions, carrot, and celery until softened, about 5 minutes.

2. In a large bowl, combine the sauteed vegetables, beef, oats, egg, tomato paste, worcestershire sauce, garlic, rosemary, sage, thyme, and pepper sauce. Shape into a loaf about 7x5x2-inches and place in the pan. Bake 30 minutes. Top with the ketchup, and bake 30-45 minutes longer. Cut into 8 slices.

Source: Weight Watchers New Complete Cookbook
8 servings | 3 POINTS

February 25, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

