Jamaican Jerk Turkey Burgers


Every week while planning the menu and shopping list, I ask Ryan if there is anything special he wants for dinner that week. Every week he gives me the same answer, “Burgers, tacos, Hamburger Helper… you know, the usual.” Apparently he has a real affinity for ground meat.

I started making burgers after receiving a Rachael Ray cookbook for Christmas one year; afterall, she is the self-professed Burger Queen. Our definition of burgers is pretty lenient; I’m sure in some ways they are closer to meatloaf on a bun than an actual classicly defined hamburger. Since moving in to our apartment last Fall, my burger-making has been restricted. It seems our broiler wasn’t the same as the one I was used to using, and we didn’t have access to a grill. Last week, my mom gifted us with an indoor/outdoor George Foreman grill. I don’t think Ryan has ever been more excited about a gift in his entire life. His immediate response was, “Yay, now we can make burgers,” and, so, I did.

I’ve made several of Rachael Ray’s burger recipes but decided to branch out this week when granting one of Ryan’s requests; this week we decided to try Jamaican Jerk Turkey Burgers from Weight Watchers. This was my first time using oats in a burger, which is what originally made me think of meatloaf. Overall, these were really juicy and the texture was great, but they weren’t overly flavorful. In fact, they weren’t reminiscent of Jamaica or jerk seasoning at all. They had a little bit of a kick to them, but unless you knew they were Jamaican, I’m not sure you would have guessed that they were Caribbean-inspired at all. I admit that I used McCormick Jerk seasoning, so it’s possible I needed a more authentic jerk mixture to achieve that true Jamaican feel. Basically, I think the framework of the burger was great, but I will probably play around with the seasoning a bit. I would give them four stars, and Ryan automatically gives any burger (even ones with veggies in them) five stars.

Jamaican Jerk Turkey Burgers

½ cup onion, chopped
¼ cup green bell pepper, chopped
½ cup uncooked quick cooking oats
⅓ cup ketchup
1 tablespoon jerk seasoning
1 large egg
1 pound lean ground turkey

In a large bowl, combine onion, green pepper, oats, ketchup, jerk seasoning and egg; mix until well combined. Add turkey; mix thoroughly. Shape turkey mixture into four 1-inch-thick patties; cover and refrigerate for a minimum of 20 minutes.

Preheat grill pan. Grill burgers until cooked through, flipping once, about 20 to 25 minutes total.

Source: Weight Watchers
4 servings | 5 POINTS

March 4, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

