Carolina BBQ Pork


Next week, for Spring Break, Ryan and I are going camping. In planning for next week’s trip, I decided to make pulled pork in the CrockPot this week, freeze the leftovers, and then reheat them next week for BBQ sandwiches.

I’ve heard a lot of people talking about Carolina BBQ, and, while I don’t really know what that means, I was eager to try it. I’ve also seen a lot of recipes floating around the Weight Watchers message boards from Aimee’s Adventures. I decided to give her site and Carolina BBQ a try.

The recipe was easy enough to prepare, and the meat was incredibly tender. I was a little nervous because after adding the vinegar mixture to the CrockPot, that was all I could smell for hours. I also got scared when I mixed in the crushed red pepper flakes because, as much as I love spice – particularly crushed red pepper flakes, it seemed like a lot in comparison to the other ingredients. However, the recipe was neither too vinegary or too spicy.

Maybe I am just spoiled by my thick, brown, bottled barbecue sauce, but I didn’t find this to be my idea of BBQ. The flavor was good, though not as strong as I would have hoped. It just seemed like the meat was not as saucy or flavorful as I would want, and we ended up adding a little bit of barbecue sauce to our sandwiches. Overall it was good, but I’m not sure I would make it again; three stars.

I will say that this recipe made a ton of food! I used right at three pounds of pork and portioned out 17 servings at 3 ounces each (which was the perfect amount for one sandwich). We both got full and still had more than two-thirds left! So if you’ve got a lot of people to feed, this would be a great dish to serve.

Carolina BBQ Pork

cooking spray
2 medium onions, quartered
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon paprika
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
3 pounds lean pork loin
¾ cup apple cider vinegar
4 teaspoons worcestershire sauce
1 ½ teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1 ½ teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoon mustard powder
½ teaspoon garlic
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Place onions in slow cooker coated in cooking spray.

Combine brown sugar, paprika, salt and pepper; rub over roast, and place roast over onions.

Combine vinegar, worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, sugar, mustard, garlic powder and Cayenne; stir well to mix. Drizzle about 1/2 vinegar mixture over roast; cover and refrigerate remaining vinegar mixture.

Cover crockpot, and cook on low 10 to 12 hours or high 4 to 6 hours.

Drizzle reserved vinegar mixture over roast during last half hour of cooking.

Remove meat and onions to a plate. Using 2 forks, shred the meat and onions. Place them back into crockpot and stir well to mix in any juice in the bottom of the crockpot

Source: Aimee’s Adventures
17 servings | 3 POINTS

March 6, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

