Indoor S’mores


In celebration of the fact that I am camping right now (oh, the joys of WordPress’s publish later feature!), I bring you an indoor alternative to making S’mores. As we all know, these gooey treats are one of the best things about being out in the woods, but for those of you who don’t like nature, fret not! You too can enjoy this version at home.

Prior to last year, I can’t even tell you the last time I had S’mores; they aren’t something I remember eating much as a kid. We roasted marshmallows, sure, but I guess we weren’t big on making them into sandwiches. In fact, I remember most of the white puffs being lit on fire instead of being eaten. Last summer, however, Ryan and I were, for reasons I can’t remember, talking about S’mores, and it was revealed to me that he had never had one before. I thought this was just ridiculous that he led such a sheltered life, and we immediately set out to correct this injustice with a trip to the grocery store. There, on the bag of Jet Puff marshmallows, was the recipe for making S’mores inside.

Ryan was an immediate fan. In fact, we have made S’more a few times since that first encounter. They’re quick, incredibly rich and will satisfy any sweet tooth. Best of all, they’re just really fun to eat. Even though they are a bit too sweet for my tastes, I can’t eat them without smiling, so they get 5 stars.

Indoor S’mores

8 pieces low fat graham crackers, which is two full sheets
1 bar dark chocolate, 100 calorie size
2 large marshmallows

1. Break candy bar in half; set aside.
2. Place 2 of the graham squares on microwaveable plate. Top each with 1 chocolate piece and 1 marshmallow.
3. Microwave on high 15-20 seconds or until marshmallows puff.
4. Top with remaining graham squares, pressing slightly into marshmallow to secure.
5. Serve immediately.

Source: Jet Puff Marshmallow bag
1 serving (which is actually 2 sandwiches) | 5 POINTS

March 9, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

