Zero Points Slow Cooker Soup


We’ve all seen the new Progresso Light soups that are 0 Points, right? I’ve seen that Campbell’s is even getting an edge on the market with a 0 Points (but not endorsed by WW) soup. Aside from the fact that no one really eats half a can of soup (do they?!), the sodium content for those soups is outrageous which is true with most canned or prepackaged foods nowadays. Plus they can be pricey, and, really, homemade soup is so rewarding. I take great pride in chopping all the veggies (by hand, no food processor allowed!) and letting the soup simmer on the stovetop for a while. Having my apartment smell like fresh herbs and veggies makes it feel like home.

I have tried a couple different 0 Point soup recipes, and I’m not completely convinced you actually need a recipe for this. You can easily mix and match your favorite non-starchy vegetables, broth, and herbs for a creation all your own. Yet Weight Watchers provides several variations on their site so I thought I would test them out.

First up, the slow cooker soup. I saw that it had a good bit of crushed red pepper so I was expecting it to be a little spicy. The crushed red pepper is what made me choose this recipe over the others. I should first note that I used what I assume is a four quart CrockPot, and it really was not big enough for this recipe. Ten ounces of spinach is a lot more than you might expect; it was at least a lot more than I expected. I could barely get the lid to sit on my CrockPot. As it cooked, it wilted and was fine, but you’ll probably want to cut the recipe down some if you, like me, you only have a four quart slow cooker.

As for the taste, the spinach was overwhelming and the crushed red pepper did not deliver as expected. I usually love having vegetable soup on hand and go through it pretty quickly, but this one seemed to last forever which was a good indication to me that I obviously didn’t like it too much. It wasn’t even necessarily that it had bad taste, I just wasn’t crazy about the texture with that much spinach. It’s definitely not one I’ll make again, but it wasn’t awful; I would give it two stars.

Zero Points Slow Cooker Soup

½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried basil
2 bay leaves
1 28 ounce can diced tomatoes
4 cups vegetable broth
1 clove garlic, minced
1 large onion, chopped
2 medium celery stalks, sliced
2 medium carrots, chopped
10 ounces baby spinach

Place all ingredients in a slow cooker; cover and cook on high power for 5 hours. Remove bay leaves, stir and serve. Yields about 1 cup per serving.

Source: Weight Watchers
8 servings | 0 POINTS

March 13, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

