Sesame-Orange Marinade on Broiled Salmon

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I am not good at planning ahead which is apparent by my lack of an Irish-themed recipe for you today. In honor of the holiday, I will be making the standard corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots for dinner tonight, but had I thought ahead, we would have eaten it last night so I could post about it today. Fear not, you will read about it, it just won’t be as relevant as it would have been today unless someone can suggest another day of the year in which most Americans partake in eating corned beef and cabbage? (It’s interesting that such a dinner is an American tradition, not Irish.) I’m not going to leave you totally empty handed! If you haven’t already planned out a great Leprechaun-friendly meal for tonight, I will refer you to Nummy Kitchen’s Shamrock Pizza! Isn’t that adorable?! I think that might be what I make next year, depending on how well the corned beef goes over.

And if, for whatever reason, you just aren’t in the mood for green beer and Irish fare, I also bring you an amazing salmon recipe.

This was some of the best salmon I have ever had. Admittedly, I am a fan of salmon, but I’m pretty picky about how it’s cooked and what it tastes like. I prefer a really mild flavor, and it can sometimes be too fishy.

The Sesame-Orange marinade was really easy to make and was the perfect blend of salty and sweet to complement the salmon. I let the fish marinade for an hour and spooned the marinade over the salmon twice while cooking. The flavor permeated even the thickest parts of the fillets but was not overwhelming. Considering how quick and easy this was and how awesome it tasted, we will definitely be making this five star dish again!

Note: For those who don’t like fish, I think this marinade would taste great on any meat.

Sesame-Orange Marinade on Broiled Salmon

¼ cup low-sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon sherry cooking wine
¼ cup orange juice
1 tablespoon orange zest
2 teaspoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons ginger root, minced
2 fillets salmon

Mix together marinade ingredients. Place fish in a nonmetallic dish and pour marinade over it.

Marinate fish for at least 20 minutes or up to 1 hour.

Preheat the broiler. Line a baking sheet with foil coated in cooking spray.

Place salmon on the foil. Broil fish about 4-5 inches from the heat for approximately 10 minutes per inch of thickness. Thinner steaks take between 5-7 minutes. If desired, brush with leftover marinade (boiled for 3 to 5 minutes to destroy bacteria) while cooking.

When salmon is golden brown on top, remove and eat!

Source: Weight Watchers
2 servings | 6 POINTS

March 17, 2009. recipes.

One Comment

  1. wonker replied:

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

