Apple Cake

I’m not much of a baker. There are two reasons for this. First, I’m not a huge fan of sweets; I much prefer savory or cheesy decadence to sugary treats. Second, I just don’t really enjoy the act of baking. Rolling dough, getting flour all over my counter, self, and kitchen, just doesn’t appeal to me. I generally just don’t have the patience for it all. Luckily for me, Ryan loves sweets and is slowly learning how to bake. He seems to thoroughly enjoy it whereas he doesn’t like cooking, and that works out perfectly for us.

That said, there are a few times a year where I get the strange yearning to bake. My best friend’s birthday was such an occasion. I had a large back of apples on hand that I wanted to use, but I also wanted to make something cake-like that was still Weight Watchers friendly. Luckily, on the WW Plan Manager, I was able to find a recipe for Apple Cake.

Only minutes after putting this into the oven, my entire apartment smelled like heaven: it was the most amazing mixture of vanilla and cinnamon and apple! The smell of the cake definitely raised my expectations for what it would taste like, and I wasn’t disappointed. The cake was a little drier than I would have liked, but overall the flavor was really good. The birthday girl was impressed, and all of Ryan’s coworkers enjoyed it when he took the rest in to the office the next day. Kids probably wouldn’t be too excited about this for their birthday cake, but I gave it four stars.

Apple Cake

cooking spray
2 eggs
½ cup sugar
¼ cup fat free milk
2 tablespoons light butter, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup self-rising flour
1 ½ tablespoons cornstarch
1 apple, peeled, cored, and sliced thinly
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon sugar

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Coat an 8-inch round cake pan with cooking spray.

Beat eggs and 1/2 cup of sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Stir in milk, melted butter and vanilla extract.

Combine flour and cornstarch and fold into the cake batter. Pour mixture into prepared pan.

Layer apple slices in a circular pattern on top of cake. Combine cinnamon and sugar in a cup and sprinkle over apples. Bake for about 30 to 35 minutes or until a knife or metal skewer comes out clean when inserted. Cut into 8 pieces and serve.

Source: Weight Watchers
8 servings | 3 POINTS

March 23, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

