Daeji Bulgogi (Spicy Korean Pork Barbecue)

A few weeks ago my mom surprised me with an indoor/outdoor electric grill. Since we live in an apartment, we aren’t allowed to have charcoal grills or store propane tanks, so Ryan and I were very excited about this new alternative. The nice thing about it is it comes with a stand so we can use it out on our newly set up deck or I can use it on the counter in the kitchen. I will say it’s not the easiest thing to clean due its size, but otherwise we love it! As it gets warmer, I hope we spend a lot more time out on the deck.

Here is the first of many grill recipes: I have made Korean barbecue in the past using a Martha Stewart recipe, but it was definitely not a low calorie dish. When I saw this one from Cooking Light, I was hoping it would be a great alternative to the less healthy MS version. As with most “diet” food, this was not as good as the unhealthy version, but it was still pretty good. I did not freeze the meat beforehand (which is done to make slicing it very thinly easier) because I didn’t have that kind of time and wasn’t that concerned about getting it paper thin. I let the meat marinade in the refrigerator for an hour, as directed, but I think it could have probably fared better from spending longer in the sauce prior to cooking. While the the dish did have good flavor, it just didn’t seem to have enough flavor, so I’ll give it three stars.

Daeji Bulgogi (Spicy Korean Pork Barbecue)

2 lean boneless pork chops
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 ½ tablespoons Thai chili paste
1 teaspoon ginger root, minced
1 teaspoon sesame oil
½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
3 cloves garlic, minced

Wrap pork in plastic wrap; freeze 1 1/2 hours or until firm.

Remove plastic wrap; cut pork diagonally across grain into 1/16-inch-thick slices.

Combine pork, sugar, and next 6 ingredients (sugar through garlic) in a large zip-top plastic bag. Seal and marinate in refrigerator 1 hour, turning bag occasionally.

Prepare grill. Place a wire grilling basket on grill rack. Remove pork from bag; discard marinade. Place pork on grilling basket coated with cooking spray; grill 5 minutes or until desired degree of doneness, turning frequently.

Source: Cooking Light
2 servings | 5 POINTS

March 25, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Emily replied:

    This sounds amazing!!

  2. Jessica replied:

    I’m going to have totry this out!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

