Chipotle Tacos

Have you ever planned something out for dinner only to discover, right as you’re about to start cooking, that you are missing one key ingredient? Well, that’s what happened to me yesterday. Twice.

The original plan was for Louisiana Red Beans and Rice, but the can of red beans I knew had to be in my pantry somewhere was hiding from me. Ryan was just about to leave work so I gave him the choice of buying more beans or getting some ground meat so we could make tacos. I’m not sure why I even gave him the choice since I knew without a doubt that he would choose tacos. As he walked through the door, I turned the oven on so it could preheat for the shells and got the skillet out for the meat. It was then that I reached for the box I thought was a “taco kit”. Instead, it was just shells. I frantically searched the cabinets for a packet of taco seasoning. At this point Ryan heard me muttering and could tell I was looking for something so he hesitantly said, “I’m going back out, aren’t I?” I could hear the exhaustion in his voice, and I certainly didn’t feel like running out for a packet of seasoning, so I decided to use my google-fu and find a recipe for homemade taco seasoning. Luckily for me, I already had a recipe bookmarked on delicious.

It wasn’t quite as easy just opening the packet of powder and dumping it on the meat, but it’s far from complicated. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever buy a packet of taco mix again because this recipe was just that good! The original recipe calls for chili powder (and even provides a recipe for homemade chili powder), but I opted for using a bottle of chipotle powder in its place. I also added a tablespoon of cornstarch mixed into 1/2 cup of water based on a couple other recipes I found around the web. It was the perfect level of heat for us, but it’s easily customizable for those who prefer a milder flavor. Also, we used ground chicken because that was cheapest, but you could easily use turkey, beef, or non-meat crumbles. This recipe definitely earned five stars.

Chipotle Tacos

1 teaspoon chipotle chile powder
¼ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ teaspoon onion powder
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
¼ teaspoon oregano
½ teaspoon paprika
1 ½ teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon cornstarch
½ cup cold water
4 teaspoon olive oil
1 pound lean ground chicken

Heat oil in nonstick pan over medium high heat. Add ground beef, and cook until brown.

While meat is cooking, combine first nine ingredients; mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk cornstarch into cold water.

Sprinkle seasoning mix over meat; stir well. Pour cornstarch mixture over meat, and simmer for about 10 minutes.

Serve with your favorite taco shells and toppings.

Source: Cooking for Seven
4 servings | 5 POINTS

April 3, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Kristan Anne replied:

    I never buy taco seasoning anymore. Did you know it probably has hydrogenated oils in it? I don’t get why they need to add that in there!

  2. Liz replied:

    I did not know that! Ew. I’ve been trying to keep a better eye on stuff like that, but I honestly wouldn’t have even thought to check the seasoning packet for that! Even more reason not to buy it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

