Pork Souvlaki and Tzatziki Sauce


Last Friday we had some friends over for a game night, and I was at a total loss for what to cook. I found a couple recipes that I thought about trying, but none of them were quite right for whatever reason. I decided to browse my nearly 800 delicious bookmarks to find something when I came across a post on Serious Eats for this Pork Souvlaki. I had just been reading a couple posts about Souvlaki on a message board, so it seemed perfect.

I put the meat in the marinade and made the tzatziki sauce the night before to cut back on prep work the day of. I think letting the flavors meld overnight really helped the dish. The pork, which I prepared on my electric grill, came out really tender and flavorful. I wasn’t overly impressed with the tzatziki sauce; it seemed a little bland, but it was a good addition to the pork and pita sandwich.

Judging from the leftovers (or lack thereof), I think it was well-received by my guests! To serve six, I made 12 generous skewers, and by the end of the night, they were all gone. I doubled the original recipe but still have a ton of tzatziki sauce left so take that in to consideration when deciding how much to make. Ryan and I give this recipe four stars, and I think it’s the perfect dinner party dish: quick, easy, and tasty!

Pork Souvlaki

¼ cup olive oil
1 cup red onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
½ cup lemon juice
¼ cup red wine vinegar
4 teaspoons dried oregano
3 pounds lean pork tenderloin, trimmed, cut into 1-inch cubes

Mix all of the marinade ingredients together in a small bowl. Place pork cubes in a Ziploc bag and pour in the marinade. Seal the bag and toss to coat pork evenly with the marinade, then open the bag and reseal, removing as much air as possible. Place the pork in the refrigerator for at least two hours to overnight.

Thread the pork cubes onto the skewers and place on grill. Grill the pork skewers until they are browned on all sides and cooked through, about 8 to 12 minutes, turning 4 times during cooking. Remove the skewers to a plate and allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Serve with warm pitas and tzatziki sauce (recipe to follow).

Tzatziki Sauce

2 cups plain, fat-free greek yogurt
1 medium English cucumber, peeled and grated
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Mix all the tzatziki ingredients together in a bowl until well combined. Cover and place in the refrigerator for at least two hours to overnight

Source: Serious Eats
12 servings | 4 POINTS
(Note: The POINTS value is based on meat and sauce only; serve with pita bread for extra POINTS.)

April 5, 2009. Serious Eats.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

