Louisiana Red Beans and Rice


While I haven’t tried many varieties of Cajun cuisine, I am a big fan of the few standards I have had like gumbo, jambalaya, and etouffee. I think the reason I tend to find Cajun food so appealing is that I love spicy food! This coupled with the fact that I have been trying to find some recipes that are less meat-centric left me really excited to make this version of red beans and rice from Eating Well.

I’m not going to lie, Ryan’s level of enthusiasm was significantly less than mine; he is not a fan of beans and was immediately turned off to a dish whose main ingredient was beans. It made sense then that I loved this meal while he was left feeling lukewarm about it. For my taste, it was the perfect level of heat and flavor. I think it was a bit on the spicy side for him, and he complained that the texture of the beans was unappealing. I love the crunch of the veggies and thought they paired nicely with the softness of the beans and rice, and I also added quite a bit of Frank’s hot sauce to my bowl proving that “hot” is relative. I will definitely make this recipe again and give it five stars.

If you tend to prefer mild over hot, consider cutting back on the chipotle powder, especially if using a spicy andouille sausage. The original recipe called for Canadian bacon and basmati rice; I thought the sausage would add more of a kick and used the instant brown rice I had on hand. Adjust the cook-time and amount of water for whatever rice you use.

Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

2 ½ cups water
1 ½ cups instant brown rice
½ teaspoon table salt
4 teaspoons canola oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
1 (15 oz) can red beans, drained
2 links chicken andouille sausage
3 medium celery stalks, chopped
1 medium bell pepper, chopped
½ teaspoon chipotle chile powder

1. Heat 1 1/2 cups water in saucepan until boiling. Stir in rice and salt; return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir; cover. Let stand 5-7 minutes or until all water is absorbed. Fluff with fork.

2. While rice is cooking, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until the onion is lightly colored and tender, about 3 minutes.

3. Place half of beans in a small bowl and mash with a fork. Add the mashed and whole beans, the remaining 1 cup water, sausage, celery, celery leaves, bell pepper and ground chipotle (or cayenne) to taste to the pan. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the liquid has thickened into a gravy and the vegetables are crisp-tender, about 6 minutes. Serve in shallow bowls, spooned over the rice.

Source: Eating Well
4 servings | 7 POINTS

April 12, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Kristan Anne replied:

    This looks really yummy! I love crunchy celery in warm dishes. I’m not eating meat (much) anymore, so this is perfect….I’ll just make some sausage for the hubs and give it to him on the side. Thanks!

  2. Marianne replied:

    Not to mention this is incredibly budget friendly!

  3. Liz replied:

    KA – this would definitely be a great vegetarian dish! Ryan and I are far from vegetarians, but I am trying to be more aware of how much meat we eat and want to start making at least one vegetarian dinner a week. He’s a little resistant right now though so we’ll see :)

    Marianne – Good point! There are several sites I follow that do cost/meal analysis and while I’m not nearly that anal about tracking it, I have definitely been more conscious of how much we spend at the grocery store over the past few months. Meals on the cheap that still taste amazing are always a plus.

  4. Aggie replied:

    This looks great! I love any rice and bean dish, more so if its healthier…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

