Pad Thai


One of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday afternoon is on the sofa with my boys (Ryan and our furkids… yes, I’m totally outnumbered) watching Food Network. It’s not something we get to do often because it seems there are always errands to be run, places to go, laundry to do, etc. Weekends are generally just very busy so I relish the times we do get to just stay in and relax.

On one of these beloved afternoons, we happened to watch the Pad Thai Throwdown with Bobby Flay, and it looked delicious. It looked so good, in fact, that we quickly looked up the recipe online and had Pad Thai for dinner. Of course the recipes on Food Network’s site was a little complicated and didn’t seem too healthy, but I found an awesome-looking recipe on Eating Well.

Despite how yummy Bobby Flay and his competitor made Pad Thai look, it’s not a dish I’ve really had the best luck with in the past. Having never eaten it, I tried making it for the first time last year using a recipe from Everyday Food’s Great Food Fast by Martha Stewart. I wasn’t crazy about the results and was hugely turned off by my first experience using anchovy paste thus never inspired to try making it again. I was also surprised that Ryan thought this looked good since it contained egg and bean sprouts, two foods he does not eat, but he was probably even more excited to try it than I was. Luckily, neither of us was disappointed!

Aside from the 60 minutes needed to soak the noodles, this dish came together very quickly; less than ten minutes passed from the time I started preheating the wok until we were eating which is always appreciated. Most of the ingredients are things we had on hand, which is also a plus. On top of being relatively low in POINTS, one serving is very filling. Delicious, healthy, quick. What more could you ask for in a meal? If I had to come up with one complaint it would be that the dish is not nearly spicy enough; it’s really not spicy at all. I added more chili sauce to mine, and Ryan commented that he wishes it had some heat to it. Otherwise, it was four stars good.

Pad Thai

8 ounces rice noodles
4 teaspoons sesame oil
6 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs
1 pound shrimp
3 cups bean sprouts
1 cup scallions, sliced
6 tablespoons rice vinegar
5 tablespoons fish sauce
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons chili sauce

Soak rice noodles in cold water to cover in a large bowl until they are limp and white, about 60 minutes.

Heat oil over high heat in a wok until very hot. Add the garlic and stir-fry until golden, about 10 seconds. Add the eggs and cook, stirring, until scrambled, about 30 seconds. Add shrimp and stir-fry until they curl and turn pink, about 2 minutes.

Drain the noodles and add to the wok, tossing with tongs until they soften and curl, about 1 minute. Add bean sprouts, scallion greens, vinegar, fish sauce, sugar and chili sauce; toss until the shrimp are fully cooked and noodles are heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Serve immediately.

Source: Eating Well
8 servings | 6 POINTS

April 15, 2009. recipes.

10 Comments

  1. Kristan Anne replied:

    I’ve made Pad Thai once before and I didn’t care for it at all. It was not yummy and it also looked far from yummy. Your’s looks good though!

  2. Jessica replied:

    Kudos to you, I wouldn’t even no where to begin…but now I do ;)

  3. Sara replied:

    I have also been wanting to make this since I saw that Throwdown. I may try this healthier version instead. Thanks!

  4. nick replied:

    I saw that same Throwdown and thought exactly the same thing. It appears that you had excellent results, but that is coming from a pad Thai virgin, so… :)

  5. Liz replied:

    For anyone who hasn’t made (or eaten) Pad Thai before, I think this is a great recipe to start with because it was very easy and you can always tweak it to your tastes if you want. Glad to see there are so many other Food Network fans :)

  6. Aggie replied:

    This looks great! I love Pad Thai but have never tried making it! I will be trying this! I LOVE Bobby Flay! ;)

  7. Liz replied:

    Please let me know how you like it, Aggie! Since I haven’t had Pad Thai often I don’t have much to base it on; I would love to know what others think of the recipe :)

  8. Juliet replied:

    Wow. That Pad Thai looks absolutely delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

  9. Sarah replied:

    Okay, I love bobby flay, i love throwdown, and I love pad thai. I’ve tried to make it before and it turned out nasty, lol. I think I will try this version and see what happens. Thanks for the recipe and the review!

  10. Katie replied:

    Hi nice blog :) I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

