CEiMB: Beef Stew with Orange

This recipe marks my first week participating in the blogging group Craving Ellie in My Belly. Every week a different member of the group selects a recipe from Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, and this week’s recipe was selected by Farah at confessions of a novice baker.

While there are a few groups of this kind around the blogging world, it seems most of them center around baking which is not my forte (or good for me if I want to stick with WW) so I was incredibly excited to stumble upon this one since Ellie is like the Cooking Light of Food Network. I really like the idea of blogging groups because they force the members to try things they may not have necessarily tried on their own. I am looking forward to getting out of my comfort zone and experimenting with Ellie’s healthy recipes.

With that in mind, I was both excited and apprehensive about this week’s recipe. The original recipe is for Lamb Stew with Orange, and I have never eaten lamb, nor have I really ever wanted to. Over the past few months, as I’ve worked to open my mind to new foods, I have thought about venturing out and trying lamb. When I originally saw the recipe, I did toy with the idea of using lamb, but since Ryan is not a fan of soups or stews and I was already not sure about the flavor combinations, I opted to use beef. The other changes I made were mainly in an attempt to keep the stew at a reasonable POINTS value. I cut back on the oil and omitted the can of chickpeas because those two items added 3 POINTS per serving. Also, since I am not a fan of parsnips, I used potatoes.

The idea of orange in stew did not appeal to me at all, but it turned out really well. I had considered leaving the orange out completely (I already omitted the orange sections and juice), but I’m glad I didn’t because it added a freshness that the dish would not have had otherwise. It was a nice little pop without being too citrusy or fruity and blended well with the cumin. I used reduced sodium varieties of everything which left the finished product needing a little salt, but I would rather add it at the end, to each person’s individualized taste, anyway. I would have preferred my stew a little thicker which it might have been had I followed the original recipe exactly, and letting something simmer for 90 minutes is a little more effort and time than I usually like to spend on dinner. This was a three star dish that we both enjoyed though I’m not sure it’s something Ryan would ever request again as he just does not enjoy stew/soup too much.

Beef Stew with Orange

4 teaspoons olive oil
1 pound lean steak, trimmed, cut into 1″ cubes
¼ teaspoon salt
⅛ teaspoon ground black pepper
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 medium celery stalks, chopped
2 medium carrots, chopped
2 small potatoes, chopped
¾ cup dry red wine
3 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
15 ounces reduced-sodium tomato sauce
1 teaspoon orange zest
1 ½ teaspoons ground cumin

Heat oil in an 8-quart Dutch oven or other large pot over high heat until hot but not smoking. Season meat lightly with salt and pepper and sear in oil until browned on all sides, about 5 minutes.

Add onions and garlic and cook an additional 5 minutes.

Add tomato paste and stir to incorporate, cooking for 2 to 3 minutes.

Add celery, carrots, potatoes, wine, chicken broth, tomato sauce, orange zest, and cumin.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer until beef is tender, about 90 minutes.

Season with salt and pepper to taste. Remove from heat, cool slightly, and ladle into bowls.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”
4 servings | 7 POINTS

April 16, 2009. recipes.

9 Comments

  1. applec replied:

    Great job! So you enjoyed your first cooking experience with CEimB? It’s GREAT getting new blogs on the list. Makes things so interesting.

  2. Liz replied:

    Thanks :) Yes, I definitely enjoyed the first CEiMB recipe and am looking forward to all of the upcoming recipes! This was the one I was most apprehensive about but since it turned out so well, I’m even more excited about the next few. And I’m loving the group and all the other blogs. It’s fun to see how everyone modifies the recipe to their own needs/tastes.

  3. Leanne replied:

    I love this cooking group. It has “made” me try recipes I would have never picked and I loved them. I went with beef too. I liked it but don’t know if it will be one of those things I put in a rotation. Maybe something on a cold winter night.

  4. Leslie replied:

    Wow, this looks fantastic! I bet it was good with beef. I’m also not a lamb fan, so I actually did mine vegetarian. Welcome to CEiMB! We make a lot of great tasting dishes!

  5. Aggie replied:

    Your stew looks delicious! Welcome to the group!

  6. Sara replied:

    I am so glad you decided to try this one! It looks amazing. I really love lamb, I hope you try it out sometime.

  7. Pam replied:

    What a delicious looking stew – adding orange is a great idea.

  8. Farah replied:

    Welcome to CEIMB! This looks delicious. Thanks for cooking along with me this week :)

  9. Liz replied:

    Thanks to all the CEiMB members for such a warm welcome!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

