Sesame Chicken

When Ryan and I first met, over five years ago, he had never eaten Chinese food before. I could not believe someone in their early twenties could have gone through life without experiencing the tasty goodness that is Chinese food. Feeling this situation needed immediate rectification, for our second date, we went to my absolute favorite Chinese restaurant. To say he was skeptical would be an understatement, but, as he has done many, many times since, he bravely trusted me and tried something new. This is where I point out that I have yet to lead him astray; I can’t think of anything I’ve ever recommended him to try that he has hated. Maybe he can correct me if that is wrong?

Fast forward five years… we now frequent our favorite local Chinese restaurant often enough that the waitress knows us and brings us our usual. I could say that it’s because they have amazing lunch specials, even on weekends. I mean, where else can you get totally stuffed and have leftovers for $6? But the truth is, we just love Asian food, and it’s not limited to Chinese, even though that is where the love affair started.

Ryan’s favorite dish is General Tso’s Chicken, so I’ve made a healthier version of that quite a few times. While it is yummy, I was in the mood to try something different this time around. I found a recipe for Sesame Chicken on Weight Watchers and modified it a little. The original recipe calls for dredging the cooked chicken through toasted sesame seed, which I’m sure would give it a great crunch, but as I had none on hand, I opted to skip this step. This didn’t taste like any sesame chicken I’ve ever had before, but it was really good. When I think of sesame chicken, I think of a sweet dish; in this recipe the five-spice powder was overpowering. Had I not had a preconceived idea of what sesame chicken should taste like, I would have like this more, but as it was, it left me slightly disappointed. The amount of spice and overall flavor was good though, and I would make it again. Three stars.

Sesame Chicken

1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 tablespoon sherry cooking wine
1 teaspoon ginger, minced
½ teaspoon five-spice powder
2 tablespoons flour
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes
2 teaspoons sesame oil

Whisk water, soy sauce, maple syrup, sherry, ginger and five-spice powder together in a small bowl; set aside.

Combine flour, salt and pepper in a shallow dish; add chicken and turn to coat. Shake chicken pieces to remove excess flour.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and sauté until browned on all sides, about 5 minutes. Add soy sauce mixture to chicken and cook until sauce thickens and is almost evaporated, about 2 to 3 minutes more.

Source: Weight Watchers
4 servings | 4 POINTS

April 19, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. take5 replied:

    thanks for the recipe!! :)

  2. connie b replied:

    YUM!!Thanks so much for the recipe!!

  3. Sara replied:

    It really looks great! I have been trying to replicate my favorite chinese food dishes at home lately because it is so much healthier. I will try this one out.

  4. bob replied:

    I wish I could write this well! great blog thanks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

