Cheesy Potatoes

I have a ton of cookbooks and subscribe to several food magazines, yet the majority of things I make come from fellow food bloggers or some other source on the internet. As I’ve created a more expansive list of links on delicious and subscribed to more blogs, I have found it much easier to filter through recipes online instead of searching through stacks of books or magazines. The convenience is great, but I miss pouring through my cookbooks and flipping through the glossy pages of my favorite magazines; I used to read these with the same enthusiasm that most people read “Twilight”. In an attempt to get more use out of my prized collection, I set a goal to find at least one recipe from either a cookbook or magazine (or both!) each week.

This first recipe comes from Weight Watchers magazine. I was flipping through the March/April edition last week and came across a lightened version of Cheesy Potatoes. I absolutely adore any kind of cheesy potatoes so I knew this would be my recipe to try. I cannot even put into words how yummy this dish was! It was super easy to put together, which is always nice, and this was definitely one of the best potato dishes I’ve ever had! I would go so far as to say they were ah-may-zing!

As I always do, I modified the recipe some. It called for thyme, which I have learned I’m not a huge fan of, so I added a dash of nutmeg and a pinch of cayenne instead. I learned the nutmeg trick from Rachael Ray who says she always adds a little bit of to macaroni and cheese or other cheese dishes. When I made her macaroni and cheese in the past, the nutmeg was overpowering, so I opted for just a sprinkle this time, and since we love a little spice in everything, I added a pinch of cayenne for an extra kick. The bit of spice from those two additions really made a huge difference, and I would highly recommend adding them.

Now, here is my major complaint with Weight Watchers: the magazine proudly claims this recipe has been cut down from 8 POINTS to 4 POINTS, but no where in the article does it talk about how many servings the recipe makes. When I went to put the information into my Plan Manager, I was very disappointed to learn that 4 POINTS would only get me 1/12 of the recipe. For us, that is an unrealistic serving size. So, I cut mine into 8 servings at 6 POINTS each. The entire pan is 48 POINTS so you can cut it into whatever size serving you want and adjust POINTS in whatever way works best for you.

Even though it is a little high in POINTS, we will most certainly be making this again. I also think this would be a great side at a potluck or other gathering, and I’m looking forward to making it for holidays. Five stars!

Cheesy Potatoes

16 ounces fat free sour cream
11 ounces low-fat condensed cream of chicken soup
8 ounces 2% cheddar cheese, shredded
¼ cup light butter
¼ teaspoon black pepper
dash nutmeg
dash cayenne pepper
32 ounces frozen diced potatoes

Preheat oven to 400. Spray 9×13-inch baking dish with nonstick spray.

Mix sour cream, soup, cheddar cheese, butter, and spices in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring, until the cheese melts, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a bowl and add frozen potatoes, stirring until well blended.

Spread the mixture in the prepared baking dish. Bake until hot and bubbling, 55-60 minutes.

Source: Weight Watchers Magazine, March/April 2009, p. 88
12 servings | 4 POINTS

April 20, 2009. recipes.

8 Comments

  1. connie b replied:

    YUM-O!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sara replied:

    uh, yum! I am so making this. Thanks!

  3. joey replied:

    This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

  4. Liz replied:

    Just to update everyone – these are just as good leftover! In fact, Ryan said they were even better the next day.

  5. Juliet replied:

    Wow. Those look absolutely delicious!!

  6. Erin replied:

    Those look great Liz, great! Did you just ’em as dinner or have something else too?

  7. Liz replied:

    We ate them as a side with Amy’s Texas veggie burgers (which I adore!). I think they could serve as a meal on their own since they are pretty hearty and on the rich side, but I’m not sure how Ryan would feel about just eating potatoes for dinner – he needs his protein!

  8. Kristen replied:

    This is my go to comfort food. I think it would be included in my last meal, but the full fat version, of course :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

