Raspberry or Apricot Strippers

As I think I’ve mentioned before, I am not much of a baker. I honestly just don’t have the patience or desire for it. On the rare occasion that I do bake, I usually cut corners by using store-bought pie crust or similar other short cuts. For the most part, I don’t mind making pies, cakes, muffins, but anything that needs rolled or leaves trails of flour all over my kitchen is probably not getting made by me. Simply put, I don’t like to get messy nor do I like to spend a lot of time in the kitchen cleaning up a mess, and baking just always seems to make a big mess for me. Maybe I’m doing something wrong or just don’t have enough practice.

Last summer, I somehow forgot that I don’t like baking; it was like a momentary memory lapse or something. I needed something to bring to a 4th of July party and, after seeing these yummy looking cookies in Cooking Light’s Complete Cookbook, decided to make this recipe. Well, let me tell you, it’s probably a good thing that I don’t like baking or I would probably make these every week. They are delicious. They are so good, in fact, that I made another batch for myself in lieu of having a birthday cake; I decided if I was going to splurge, it was going to be on something I really liked.

I actually made two batches, one with raspberry preserves and one with apricot. Personally, I couldn’t decide which was better, but Ryan preferred the raspberry. The apricot offered a more mellow sweetness while the tartness of the raspberry toned down the sweetness of the icing and cookie. Either way, you really can’t go wrong. Cooking Light says you can add almond extract or vanilla extract for the icing, but I implore you to use the almond flavor because it really adds an interesting splash of flavor that you wouldn’t get otherwise. When I crave dessert, these are what I crave. Five stars.

My only warning to you is this: do not be fooled by the low POINTS value of these cookies because you will not be able to stop after one!

Raspberry or Apricot Strippers

⅓ cup sugar
5 tablespoons light butter
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
1 egg white
1 cup all purpose white flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
¼ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
⅓ cup preserves, apricot or raspberry
½ cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons lemon juice
¼ teaspoon almond extract

Preheat oven to 375.

Beat granulated sugar and butter with a mixer at medium speed until well-blended (about 5 minutes). Add 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla and egg white; beat well. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt, stirring well with a whisk. Add flour mixture to sugar mixture, stirring until well-blended. (Dough will be stiff.)

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide dough in half. Roll each portion into a 12-inch log. Place logs 3 inches apart on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Form a 1/2-inch-deep indentation down the length of each log using an index finger or end of a wooden spoon. Spoon preserves into the center.

Bake at 375 for 20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Remove logs to a cutting board.

Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice, and almond extract; stir well with a whisk. Drizzle sugar mixture over warm logs. Immediately cut each log diagonally into 12 slices. (Do not separate slices.) Cool 10 minutes; separate slices. Transfer slices to wire racks. Cool completely.

Source: Cooking Light
24 servings | 1 POINT

April 22, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. pamela replied:

    Yes! These are great cookies. I made these a few years ago for the holiday cookie trays. Although I thought they were a bit time consuming, they were worth it! I loved the raspberry, too. Nice job! Love the drizzle on top.

  2. applec replied:

    Ok. I came looking for the CEimB Balsamic Chicken…etc. recipe, but WOW! These look SO MUCH BETTER first thing in the morning. I had a big breakfast..what’s going on. Fantastic!

  3. Jessica replied:

    I can’t wait to try these — I’m a sucker for any sort of jam cookie. I want to try the raspberry and the apricot (I love both of them) and maybe strawberry too? Who knows. I see what you mean about not being able to stop at one!

  4. Erin replied:

    Oh my those look good. Ya, I’d have to eat at least 6 of those to be satisfied. Who can eat just 1?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

