CrockPot Chicken Tacos

Happy Cinco de Mayo! Are you doing anything special to celebrate? Ryan and I will be trying fish tacos tonight for dinner; stay tuned for the recipe later this week. In the meantime, I do have a Mexican-inspired dish to get everyone in the mood for a fiesta. Speaking of parties, I am going to venture away from recipe blogging and food pictures for just a moment…

Last year, for my mom’s fiftieth birthday (hopefully she won’t mind me sharing her age on the internet), I planned a party for her. The women in my family are well-known for their love of Mexican food and margaritas so I really wanted the party to be themed around that instead of the standard black, over the hill stuff found at Party City. I really wanted the day to be a celebration of her and showcase what a fun person she is, not a chance to make a bunch of “you’re getting old” jokes.

I had all kinds of Mexican food – tacos, enchiladas, burritos, nachos, guacamole, salsas, etc. It was quite a spread, but the real star of the night was tequila! All guests were required to take a shot as they entered the party. Sounds like a pretty fun way to start things off, don’t you think? I seriously hope that when I’m fifty, I am having half as much fun as she and her friends had. I would also like to note that one of my best friends also attended the party, and we took shots with my grandma. How many people can say that?

Much of the night is blur (as is the next day), and there are plenty of hysterically humiliating photographs that I have no memory of. There is one from the beginning of the night that is my absolute favorite pictures from the night. I think it’s a fantastic mother-daughter photo and a great representation of what an awesomely fun person my mom is. (The only form of embarrassment I offered up that night was in the form of the “costume” I provided for her and required her to wear.)

Fiesta

And now, back to our regularly scheduled recipe post.

Ryan LOVES tacos, and as much as I enjoy them from time to time, I get a little tired of the ground meat in taco seasoning standard. When I saw this recipe for CrockPot tacos, I was intrigued. I really enjoy the shredded chicken tacos I get at Mexican restaurants, and this recipe seemed like it would be very close to those. As always, I made a few variations. The original recipe calls for fresh jalapenos and cayenne pepper; I used pickled jalapenos and chipotle powder. I also used frozen “cubes” of cilantro instead of fresh. I really do not like cilantro, despite trying to make myself like it on several occasions, so I keep the little cubes on hand to add a bit of the flavor without overpowering the dish. On its own, this was really tasty. It had a nice kick without being too spicy. Once we made it into a taco, however, it was surprisingly bland. The flavor got lost in the crunchy shells and toppings. If you want to make this as a taco, I recommend making it spicier than you think you would want. As a taco filling, it gets three stars, but check back tomorrow for my chicken enchilada recipe because it got five stars as an enchilada!

CrockPot Chicken Tacos

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 tablespoons jalapeno, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
14 ounces canned, diced tomatoes
2 tablespoons brown sugar
¼ cup cilantro, chopped
⅛ teaspoon chipotle chile powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin

Put all ingredients in CrockPot.

Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or low 6 to 8 hours or until meat can be shredded easily with fork.

Serve with tortillas and toppings of your choosing.

Source: Jersey Girl Cooks
4 servings | 6 POINTS

May 5, 2009. recipes.

8 Comments

  1. ChemicalDependence replied:

    I love the costume. My mom’s already over 50, (sorry, mom), but I would love to make her dress ridiculously at another birthday milestone. Great idea.

  2. Liz replied:

    She also had a headband with jalapeno antennas, but I guess she wasn’t wearing it yet. It was definitely a conversation starter! I think more kids should implement this tradition as payback for silly outfits mothers put their children in as infants :)

  3. Lydia (The Perfect Pantry) replied:

    I’ve never had much luck with chicken in my slow cooker, but this is the kind of recipe that looks to be foolproof, so I’m bookmarking to give it a try.

  4. Liz replied:

    I’ve had trouble with chicken coming out a little too dry in the past, but this recipe did not have that problem. It was very quick and easy to throw together too!

  5. Home with Mandy replied:

    I know the last thing I should be doing at 11:15 AM is look at food blogs. This recipe (along with many others on your blog) look so freaking good. I’m going to definitely add these chicken tacos crock pot style to my meal list next week. Great post!

  6. Liz replied:

    Thank you :)

    And, I have to be careful when I catch up on my blogroll too because I end up VERY hungry LOL

  7. Neva replied:

    How does one make cilantro cubes?

  8. Liz replied:

    Hi, Neva. I actually bought the cubes of cilantro from my local grocery store. The brand was Doro. I do know you can freeze fresh cilantro if you have some on hand, but since I use it so infrequently, I find the frozen works best for me. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

