Chicken Enchiladas

After making the CrockPot Chicken Tacos, we had about half of the chicken left, so I decided to freeze the leftovers because tacos are not an easy thing for Ryan to take to work for lunch. Neither of us was too thrilled with the recipe as taco filling, but I thought it would be great made into an enchilada though you could also use plain shredded chicken.

The meat on its own was not enough to fill all the tortillas, and I always like to add veggies where I can, so I bulked up the filling with some sauteed onions and peppers. I chose to make the enchilada sauce from a packet to control the sodium content, but you could just as easily use a can of sauce or look for a good homemade recipe. I sprinkled a little chipotle chile powder in the sauce to add a bit of a smokey kick; in case you haven’t noticed, we love chipotles!

Ryan and I both loved this, and we’ll definitely make this again. I would have liked the filling to be a little heartier, but Ryan doesn’t like beans so I wasn’t sure how else to bulk it up. I might try adding more veggies next time. Otherwise, this was really good, and I give it four stars.

Chicken Enchiladas

12 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast, shredded
1 packet enchilada sauce mix
1 cup canned tomato sauce
1 ½ cups water
2 small onion, chopped
1 medium bell pepper, chopped
8 whole wheat tortillas
5 ounces reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 350.

In a 2-quart saucepan, combine enchilada sauce mix with tomato sauce and water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes.

While enchilada sauce is cooking, saute onions and peppers in a skillet coated in cooking spray over medium high heat until tender. Add chicken and cook just until heated through. Remove from heat, and add about 3/4 cup enchilada sauce and 2 ounces of cheese. Stir to combine.

Ladle a thin layer of enchilada sauce (about 3/4 cup) into bottom of 9×13 inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.

Spoon 1/8 chicken mixture, about 3 tablespoons, down the center of each tortilla, fold over tortilla sides to encase, and place seam side down in baking dish.

Spoon remaining sauce over enchiladas, and top with remaining 3 ounces of cheese. Bake until cheese has melted and lightly browned, about 15 minutes.

Source: The Not So Skinny Kitchen
8 servings | 4 POINTS

May 6, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Sara replied:

    Those look really yummy. I just recently started to make enchiladas and I really like them.

  2. lailablogs replied:

    looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  3. Kristan Anne replied:

    This looks delicious. Maybe I’ll make it for the husband sometime. Could you add mushrooms and onions and peppers to the crockpot when you make the taco mixture?

  4. Liz replied:

    Kristan – I don’t see why you couldn’t, but I’m not sure how the veggies would turn out in the CrockPot. You might not want to cook them for the whole time because I would think they might get soggy. I guess it depends how well-done you like your veggies :) Those would definitely be a tasty addition though!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

