Tacos with Chipotle-Avocado Cream and Vegetable Orzo

For Cinco de Mayo, I had the idea to make Ellie Krieger’s Fish Tacos with Chipotle Cream. After searching through the posts the CEiMB crew made a couple months back when it was the recipe of the week, I saw that Sara at imafoodblog made her cream sauce with avocado instead of chipotle. I’ve just started eating avocado in the past couple weeks, so I decided to try out the avocado sauce, but since we love chipotles, I added those too. So the sauce I made, a Chipotle-Avocado Cream, is a hybrid of the two recipes, and I also added a dash of cumin to give a little more depth to the flavors. This sauce, which was amazing, was the first component of the meal that I prepared.

Next, I started the Vegetable Orzo, which is what Sara paired with her tacos. Her pictures looked so delicious; I just had to try it. (Hopefully she won’t mind that I stole my whole dinner plan from her blog.) It seemed like it would be a simple side and a good way to sneak veggies into our meal. I was originally concerned that the pasta and vegetable combination wouldn’t have enough flavor, but it was really good. I didn’t use quite as much dry pasta or olive oil (in an attempt to cut back on the POINTS value), and I used fresh red pepper which added a really nice crunch. Even Ryan, who normally picks around the veggies in any dish, ate every bite and gave it two thumbs up.

So, at this point I had the cream sauce ready and the orzo was almost done. Since I skipped marinating the fish (I was going to sprinkle a dry seasoning on it), I finally went to unwrap my frozen tilapia and get it in my pre-heated pan. This is the point where dinner took a huge nose-dive. The fish just did not look right. It smelled fine, but the coloring was just off. We debated it for a while but finally decided not to chance eating spoiled fish.

Sidenote: On top of this dinner, I was also pre-cooking a casserole for us to have the following night. It was the week of finals, and I wanted to make sure the next night’s dinner would be ready to go in the oven. I had spent quite a while in the kitchen and was starving so this little hiccup of not having fish for our tacos was met with some cursing.

We thought about takeout or going out, but I was so excited about these tacos and determined to make them work. Ryan ran out to pick up a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and we ended up with Chicken Tacos with Chipotle-Avocado Cream and Vegetable Orzo. Even though it didn’t quite work out as planned, it was a delicious dinner. I served the shredded chicken on a corn tortilla with shredded cabbage and the cream sauce. The texture of the corn tortillas and the crunchy cabbage paired really nicely with the spicy sauce. It was an awesome dinner that would be quick and easy if it’s the only dinner you’re making that night. I think a little flavor on the chicken – or fish – would have been good, but you do get a lot of flavor from the sauce so it isn’t necessary. Even though we didn’t end up expanding our horizons with a fish taco, we did end up with a five star dinner that we’ll definitely try making again.

Chipotle-Avocado Cream

1 medium avocado
½ cup fat-free Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, finely minced
ground cumin, to taste
salt, to taste
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

To make the sauce, scoop out the entire avocado into a bowl with the Greek yogurt, chipotle, and lemon juice. Mash up with a potato masher or the back of a fork until the avocado is smooth and combined with the yogurt. Add a dash of ground cumin and salt and pepper to taste, then cover and put in the fridge until you are ready to use it.

Source: A hybrid of Sara’s Avocado Cream and Ellie Krieger’s Chipotle Cream
6 servings | 2 POINTS

Vegetable Orzo

6 ounces uncooked orzo
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium zucchini, sliced
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
salt, to taste
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Cook your orzo al dente in a pot of well salted water. Strain and set aside, covered to keep warm if ready before your vegetables are done cooking.

In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Saute the onions until soft and starting to turn golden, 5-7 minutes. Add your zucchini and bell pepper. Cook for another 5 minutes until the zucchini are softened and starting to brown. Add the minced garlic and cook for another minute or two.

Combine your hot vegetable mix with the cooked orzo, and mix around to combine. Add remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil and toss. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

This can be served warm or at room temperature.

Source: imafoodblog.com
6 servings | 3 POINTS

May 11, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Sara replied:

    Yay! So glad to hear you liked this. I actually just made this dinner again last week, too. It is so tasty.

  2. nick replied:

    You totally stole Sara’s whole plan, FOR SHAME!

    j/k I’m glad it worked out well for you, we really enjoyed this when we had it the first time. Truth is, I’d also like some hot peppers or even chipotles in there too, but Sara is not a fan.

    Nice looking pic!

  3. Liz replied:

    Thanks so much for the recipe, Sara; it was awesome!

    And the chipotle with the avocado cream was really good; you could always add a little to your portion, Nick :)

  4. Maris replied:

    These sound so good! I’ve been wanting to make tacos now for awhile!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

