Pumpkin Bread


My mother is a huge fan of all things pumpkin. She anxiously awaits Thanksgiving all year just for the pumpkin pie. This is also the time of year when ice cream companies start rolling out all sorts of pumpkin inspired ice creams like pumpkin cheesecake and pumpkin spice. For a woman who is rarely seen eating ice cream the rest of the year, the late Fall is an exception. Over the past year or so I have been bookmarking recipes from fellow bloggers and recipe sites on my delicious page, and, just for my mom, one of my tags is “pumpkin“. As a special treat for Mother’s Day, I made her this pumpkin bread from Pam at For the love of cooking.

I can’t comment on the final product because I didn’t try any since we were giving it away as Mother’s Day gifts, but what I can tell you is that it smelled heavenly! I managed to sneak a taste of the batter; if it tasted half as good baked as it did raw, I’m sure it was awesome. Mom gave it two big thumbs up, and though she might be embarrassed to admit this for all of the internet to read, she told me yesterday morning that she had already eaten all four pieces I left her.

One warning: I did not input this recipe to my Weight Watcher e-Tools so I don’t know how many POINTS it has, but I imagine it is not very figure friendly considering the amount of oil, sugar, and nuts it contains. That said, sometimes you just have to splurge :)

Pumpkin Bread

15 ounces canned pumpkin puree
½ cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
1 ⅓ cups white sugar
1 ½ cups + 1 tablespoon flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground cloves
¼ teaspoon ground ginger

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan. In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin, oil, eggs, and sugar. Combine the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger; stir into the pumpkin mixture until well combined, add walnuts and mix. Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan. Bake in the oven for 55-65 minutes or until a tester comes out clean when inserted into the center of the loaf.

Source: For the love of cooking
8 servings

May 13, 2009. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

