Barbecue Pork Roast


A couple years ago, Ryan and I drove down to Savannah for a long weekend. I remember walking around downtown and seeing people lined up for over a block to get into a restaurant, The Lady & Sons. At the time, I had no idea who Paula Deen was. I had never heard of her nor could I understand why people would be waiting for hours for the chance to dine in her restaurant.

Last summer, after I graduated Radiation Therapy school, I was suddenly presented with a lot more free time. Thus my love affair with Food Network begun. Of all the chefs, I find Paula Deen the most entertaining to watch. She is borderline crazy; sometimes the things that come out of her mouth just crack me up even though they really make no sense whatsoever. Either way, she seems to have a lot of fun, which makes her fun to watch. She makes some really questionable food combinations though. A couple weeks ago I saw her slather an ear of corn with mayonnaise which made me gag, and then there’s her infamous Velveeta fudge, which you can tell from the name is a chocolaty fudge containing that scary yellow cheese-like food product. Other than her few frightening concoctions, most of her recipes look quite delicious and decadent. She is, after all, the self-proclaimed Butter Queen. While most people measure butter in tablespoons, she measures hers in sticks. In fact, SeriousEats has an entire series entitled “Paula Deen is Trying to Kill Us” that is devoted to her incredibly fattening recipes. This leads me to the reason I have never actually tried a Paula Deen recipe: they just don’t fit in with a Weight Watchers lifestyle at all.

Yesterday, however, this all changed. Yesterday, I was finally able to sample the amazingness that is a Paula Deen recipe. If I should ever happen to meet her, the very first thing I will do is thank her for providing me with the absolute best pork recipe I have ever tried. Ever. The pork was moist and flavorful, and the preparation was incredibly simple. Tasty and easy?! And you know what else? It was pretty figure-friendly. The marinade was only 4 POINTS total so it only adds a negligible amount of calories to each serving of pork, depending on how much pork you consider one serving. Basically, you would have to eat a pound of the pork to add 1 POINT worth of marinade, so I suggest just calculating the POINTS based on the type and quantity of pork you actually eat.

The recipe suggests the pork be served with barbecue sauce, but I think it was plenty flavorful on its own. I roasted the pork in the leftover marinade and put a little on each piece we ate. The outer edges were perfect on their own, but the middle bits were a little “pork-y” per Ryan. I guess it just depends on how much you enjoy the taste of pork whether you will require extra barbecue sauce or not. This was a perfect way to use up the pork loin we’ve had in the freezer for a while, and I highly recommend it! I can guarantee that this recipe will be made over and over again in our house.

Oh, and even though I’ve heard it’s pretty much a tourist trap with mediocre food, next time I’m in Savannah, you’ll probably find me waiting in line for the chance to sample all the fried, buttery goodness.

Barbecue Pork Roast

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce
¼ cup low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon spicy mustard
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon celery seed
½ teaspoon black pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 pounds pork loin roast

In a small bowl, combine Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, honey, vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, salt, celery seed, pepper, and garlic. Place pork loin roast in a large plastic resealable bag and pour marinade over pork loin. Seal and marinate in refrigerator for at least 4 hours (preferably overnight).

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Remove roast from bag, place in a roasting pan, and pour marinade over top. Roast pork loin at 325 degrees, basting occasionally, for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, or to an internal temperature registers 160 to 170 degrees F on an instant-read thermometer. Serve with BBQ sauce.

Source: The recipe originally appears in “The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook” by Paula Deen, but I found it on Ezra Pound Cake

May 22, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. Elyse replied:

    Mmm, this pork looks delicious! I think Paula is quite entertaining myself. I love making her recipes–even though I’m forced to give the majority of them away. This pork is definitely a “keeper,” wouldn’t have to give this one away :) Scrumptious!

  2. Sara replied:

    This looks and sounds so good. I also stay away from most Paula recipes because they are just too much, but this seems reasonable and delicious.

  3. littlehouseonthegreatflats replied:

    The problem is, I COULD probably eat a pound of pork :)

    Mayonnaise on corn on the cob? You made me slightly sick ;)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

