North Woods Bean Soup

These past couple weeks have been really challenging for me. There’s nothing terribly serious going on, but I’m just under a lot of stress. One of Ryan’s cats has been sick which has been frustrating (and expensive); last week, while Ryan was driving my car, we were rear-ended twice within two minutes of each other (just a little damage to the car, but Ryan’s back has been messed up since); and I just started back to school for the Summer semester. So, as I said, one thing on its own wouldn’t be too bad, but it was just a very hectic week. I kind of just retreated for a while, barely turning on my computer for almost five days, which is probably one of the longest stretches of time I’ve gone without opening my laptop since it’s typically attached to me. In fact, when I finally did get back online, I had nearly 400 blog entries to read in my Google Reader!! Talk about overwhelming! I am slowly whittling away at the list, but it will probably take me a while.

Now, I’m not sure about you, but when I’m super stressed, I always crave comfort foods. Sometimes this can be dangerous for my waistline though so I try to keep it in check. This time, what I really wanted was my grandfather’s ham and beans. My grandmother is the primary cook of the family; in fact, I think this is Poppy’s only dish, but when you’ve got a winner, you don’t need more than one, I suppose. I have absolutely no idea how he makes it, but I can identify the two main ingredients: ham and cannellini beans. I remember this being one of my favorite meals at my grandparent’s house, and this recipe reminded me of sitting in my grandma’s kitchen, which is exactly the feeling I was going for.

Poppy’s recipe was more of a stew, and we typically ate it over cornbread. Even though this soup recipe used sausage instead of ham, I found it to be very reminiscent of the ham and beans I was craving. I originally saw the Cooking Light recipe on For the Love of Cooking, and I modified the two recipes to my tastes and what I had on-hand. When I first entered the information into my Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, I was surprised at the number of POINTS per serving, but it was a generous portion and very filling so I think you get your POINTS worth. Even though the smokiness of the sausage paired well with the beans and veggies, it was a little bland for me so I added a few dashes of hot sauce to get it just right. I will definitely make this again, and it was a nice play on a dish from my childhood.

North Woods Bean Soup

1 cup carrot, sliced
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 ounces turkey kielbasa
4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
½ teaspoon Italian seasoning
½ teaspoon black pepper
3 cups cannellini beans
2 stalks celery, diced
½ teaspoon basil

Heat a large saucepan coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add carrots, onion, garlic, and kielbasa; sauté 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to medium; add celery and cook 5 minutes. Add the broth, seasonings, and beans. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes.

Place 2 cups of the soup in a food processor or blender, and process until smooth. Return the pureed mixture to pan. Simmer an additional 5 minutes. Remove soup from heat.

Source: Cooking Light
4 servings | 5 POINTS

June 3, 2009. recipes.

6 Comments

  1. Sara replied:

    This sounds great. I love soup with sausage in it. Hope things are getting better for you :)

  2. Hélène replied:

    So sad everything that had happened. Hope it’s going better now :)

    Soup looks yummy.

  3. nick replied:

    Great color in that picture up there. GL with the cat and boy and the back and car, sheesh, that sounds like a bad time.

    Hope all turns out OK for you.

  4. applec replied:

    Love bean soups and that one looks devine. I would use the vegetarian kielbasa .. yum!

  5. applec replied:

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. NSSK is now at Apple Crumbles.

  6. Mary replied:

    That looks great. I will have to make that when it gets cold or rainy. I hope Ryan’s back feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

