CEiMB: Breakfast Cookies


This week’s CEiMB recipe, Breakfast Cookies, was chosen by What’s for Supper? The ingredient list is rather lengthy, and I had trouble right off the bat. The original recipe calls for whole wheat pastry flour which my local Kroger did not have; they didn’t have regular pastry flour either. Immediately I started worrying that this would mean a special trip to Whole Foods. Now, I love WF, but I tend to overspend when I go in there, so I try to limit myself to only going there every now and then as a treat. While I was definitely looking for an excuse to go, I knew my bank account would appreciate finding pastry flour at my regular grocery store. Luckily, Sara (or was it Nick?) of imafoodblog posted a few recipe swaps found on Food Network’s site. One of these that I used was to use regular whole wheat flour in place of both the pastry flour and all-purpose flour; the other was to use extra rolled oats in place of the bran cereal. Other than these couple changes, I basically stuck to the recipe. I try not to stray too much from the original when it comes to baking!

Since I hadn’t read the recipe ahead of time, I was not happy when I got to the point of rolling the dough into balls and then smashing them with my hand. The main reason I do not prefer baking to cooking is because I absolutely hate to get my hands dirty! Even as a I child I refused to finger paint because I just really hate the feeling of gook between my fingers. Surprisingly, this is something I have in common with my step-dad who, of my three parents, I seem to be the most like. Of course he also has an irrational fear of applesauce, so I can’t claim to be like him in all ways. Thankfully.

While these were baking, they smelled amazing. Ryan came home as I was taking them out of the oven and was quite excited to find out what I had been making. Since I had gotten my hands covered in dough and they smelled awesome, I really wanted to love these. They fall a little short for me because even though the taste is good, they’re a little dry. To be honest, they are everything I imagine when I think of a “breakfast cookie”. They are very dense and not overly sweet or flavorful. Neither of these things are necessarily a bad thing, but it’s also not exactly what I think of when I think of, say, a cookie. As long as your expectations are realistic, which Ryan’s were not, then you will not be disappointed. I’m looking forward to having some on-hand for breakfast the next few days, and they were pretty easy to make (so long as you aren’t traumatized by having oat-filled dough caked to your fingers). I will probably try these again with a few different substitutions like applesauce in place of the oil and maybe some different fruit/nut combinations.

Breakfast Cookies

1 ¼ cups whole wheat flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon nutmeg
¼ teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter
¼ cup canola oil
¼ cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons white sugar
1 egg
1 jar carrot baby food, about 1/4 cup carrot puree
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup rolled oats
⅓ cup raisins
⅓ cup chopped walnuts

Place rack in center of oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.Whisk together flours, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in a medium-sized bowl.

Combine butter, oil and sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix on high speed, scraping down sides if necessary, until sugars have dissolved and mixture is light in color, about 1 minute. Add egg, carrot puree and vanilla and beat an additional 30 seconds.

Add flour mixture and beat an additional 30 seconds. Add oats, flakes, raisins and walnuts and mix over low speed just until incorporated. Dough will be slightly sticky and less cohesive than traditional cookie dough.

Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper. Using between 3 to 4 tablespoons of batter, form a ball and place on cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining batter, leaving about 3 inches between cookies. Wet hands and use palm of hand to flatten cookies until about 1/4-inch thick.

Bake for 12 minutes, until cookies are fragrant but still soft. Let cookies cool slightly, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Episode “Family Way” of “Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger”
12 servings | 4 POINTS

July 2, 2009. recipes.

10 Comments

  1. pamela replied:

    Your cookies look good! They were good, but only in a pinch would I want to use 4WW points for 1 cookie for breakfast. I was surprised to find that the flavor of the cookies was so tasty, though.

  2. applec replied:

    Your cookies look great. I didn’t use the oil in the cookies because from past experience, I’ve never liked the resulting texture. But mine were dry as well.
    They were tasty but I’d def. make more changes.

  3. Lauryn replied:

    HA, I am picturing how sticky and goop covered my own hands were so I can imagine how miz you must have been!! Great job!! I think your cookies look great!

  4. Cathy replied:

    I’m so glad you don’t have that irrational fear of applesauce so you can sub it into these sometime if you feel like it! I agree that if you go into these thinking “cookie” you’re likely to be disappointed. But I really did like them, for what they are, whatever that is. Muffin-top-like thing? I couldn’t find pastry flour of any kind either; thankfully, these did not seem to suffer a bit with regular white whole wheat flour. Oh, and I love how you include WW points on your recipes! Your cookies look great!

  5. nick replied:

    A few things from the post:

    “Now, I love WF, but I tend to overspend when I go in there”

    Yeah, you should tell that American Express RE: Nick’s statement. Also, it is even more devastating to take a trip to the specialty butcher store. You better have a couple of extra (quality) organs to sell if you want to make the mortgage payment that month.

    “Luckily, Sara (or was it Nick?)”

    It was Sara, but as all great things she does I’m sure I’m somehow responsible, so I’m gonna have to go ahead and take credit for this one too, Um KAY.

    “I just really hate the feeling of gook between my fingers.”

    Made me wash my hands immediately. I HATE that SO much.

    Good looking cookies, to boot!

  6. Sara replied:

    These weren’t one of my favorites, they were just alright for me. A thought about the dense-ness of these cookies, while you can use the regular whole wheat flour, I think the pastry flour helps to lighten these and make them more tender and cakey. So if you happen to see some, you should pick it up. They should have it at your WF (a.k.a the place where i spend a large chunk of my paycheck every week)

  7. Alyssa replied:

    Your comment about getting your hands dirty made me laugh. My mom runs a daycare and I grew up looking at soggy leftover sandwiches in the kitchen sink.. SICK!

    Agreed.. not the type of “cookie” most people think of. To lower the points and make them more moist.. I recommend following Johnstone’s Vin Blanc’s version of the recipe. I did and they turned out great – 75 calories each too (I got 20 out of one batch).

    Cheers!

  8. Natalie replied:

    Too bad that you didn’t like them. They did smell great while baking though. Thanks for trying anway!

  9. Leslie replied:

    They look great! I loved how they were so versatile and also how you can eat a cookie for breakfast (not that I didn’t already do that from time to time, but this one is healthier!)

  10. peggy replied:

    Dry? Hmmm, mine were not dry at all, but I made a lot of substitutions to them. Yeah, if you were expecting a sweet cookie you would be disappointed. They were sort of more like nutbread to me. But yours look great and so do those burgers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

