Sassy ‘n Spiked Pink Lemonade


I haven’t totally made up my mind about Hungry Girl just yet, but I know she can be quite polarizing. There is one set of people who absolutely adores her, Shirataki noodle substitute and all, and there is the other side that thinks she’s peddling poisoned apples to naive dieters. I guess I fall somewhere in the middle. By no means do I prescribe to eating VitaTops muffins every breakfast, Progresso Light soup or a Lean Cuisine for every lunch, and fiber cereal coated something for every dinner, with 100 calorie pack bags in there for every snack. I don’t think people should subsist on that.

That said, we’re used to eating a lot of packaged stuff. A LOT. We also lead crazy lives that don’t always leave a ton of time for preparing meals. So, I understand grabbing those quick bites every now and again. I also think it’s not realistic to give up fried chicken for the rest of your life, and if you find comfort in eating chicken coated in fiber cereal, more power to you. I used to read her emails daily though I have honestly only ever made maybe two or three recipes from her site. Lately, I’ve noticed more and more product placement pieces, and I’m starting to feel like she’s pandering to advertisers. As she has focused more and more on brand name goods and processed foods, I’ve read the newsletter less and less, and that is a complaint I’ve heard from others as well. So, I ask you, not to spark a debate but just out of curiosity, where do you stand on the Hungry Girl issue?

As I said, I’ve only tried a couple of her recipes. One was a jalapeno popper swap (which was coated in fiber cereal, of course, and didn’t turn out too well) that I made years ago, and one was a lemonade-like cocktail that I made for the first time last year. There may have been others that I am not remembering at the moment, but those are the two that come to mind.

The first time I tried the lemonade recipe, I thought it was too fake sweet. I’m not a huge fan of Splenda or other fake sweeteners because they always leave me with a funny aftertaste. It helps that I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, too, so I don’t really crave many sweets that I would need to swap for sugar-free alternatives. Even though I thought it was a little too fake sweet, I remember thinking it was pretty good, so when I was thinking of a fruity cocktail to make for our cookout-themed game night last week, I decided to give it another try.

This time, instead of using diet cranberry juice, I used the light version. I don’t really know what the difference is other than the diet version looked more watered down. I think they both use Splenda, but don’t quote me on that. Either way, it turned out much better this time. It just has a nice, refreshing quality to it which was perfect for drinking by the grill. It mostly tasted like jazzed up Crystal Light so if that doesn’t appeal to you, this probably won’t either. If you like pink lemonade and are looking for a light cocktail to serve, this one is definitely worth a try, especially if you have a huge bottle of vodka and a boyfriend who has given up liquor like I do.

Sassy ‘n Spiked Pink Lemonade

6 cups club soda
2 cups light cranberry juice
12 ounces vodka
2 teaspoons raspberry lemonade sugar-free drink mix
8 packets no calorie sweetener
1 medium lemon, cut into 8 slices

Place all ingredients except the lemon slices in a pitcher, and stir well. Serve over ice and garnish with lemon slices.

Source: Hungry Girl
8 servings | 2 POINTS

July 14, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. Fat Girl Eats replied:

    I think the HG is like a lot of other things – you have to sort through a lot of junk to find something worth making.

    But there *are* things there that are worth making. :)

  2. Ruth replied:

    This drink sounds great. I’m going to have to try it. As for HG, I really like her. I do see your side though. I think people need to learn to eat more fruits and vegetables. But she show a great way to allow people to eat their favorite foods without the fat and calories that can be just as harmful as eating processed foods. Like everything, it’s good only in moderation.

    http://she-fit.com

  3. pamela replied:

    This drinks looks and sounds very refreshing. I have the first HG cookbook and really have only tried a salad or two out of it. I feel the same way as you about much of the pre-packaged stuff. You just can’t live on it. I also agree with Ruth about how people need to eat more fruits and veggies. Moderation is definitely the key!

    Anyway…thanks for a great drink idea. :o)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

