CEiMB: Oven Baked Onion Rings


I’ve been having some technical difficulties here in The Not So Skinny Kitchen. I primarily use my MacBook and am happy to report that it is fine (because, well, it’s a Mac). Our desktop PC, on the other hand, has seen better days. I won’t bore you with the long, drawn out details, but let’s just say that I have spent HOURS and HOURS over the past week trying to fix the computer. After speaking with 6 different people at HP’s sorry excuse for a tech support department, I am now convinced that the Satan himself resides in a call center overseas and tortures people just for fun. Since HP was not offering any real help, we’ve taken to trying to troubleshoot ourselves. This scares me to no end. We don’t primarily use that computer, but I don’t exactly want to render it useless either. I should mention that Ryan was out of town for the majority of the computer/tech support debacle, and since he is computer savvy one, this proved to make the situation that much more interesting. Luckily he is home now and our evenings have been spent with him at the computer trying to do whatever it is he does, and me sitting behind him asking, “Are you sure that won’t break it more?”. Good times, indeed.

What does all that have to do with recipes and eating and food? Not much, but it does mean I have spent all my free time, which is usually devoted to cooking and blogging, cursing Microsoft Windows, HP, and anything else I can think of at the time. I’ve officially decided to take a step back from the desktop computer, return to using my trust MacBook, and provide you all with this week’s CEiMB recipe. Hopefully I can return to a more normal posting schedule later this week.

The Oven Baked Onion Rings were chosen by Mare at Meet Me in the Kitchen. I actually made them a couple weeks ago alongside the Shrimp Roll, and we both agreed they were the better part of the meal. Neither of us typically gravitates towards onion rings which is odd for me because I love onions and add them to practically everything. Ryan, on the other hand, is not a fan of onions, though he has resigned himself to eating them in nearly every meal I make. I guess you can say they’ve grown on him. Eating just onion as in these rings was a little outside his comfort zone though. As with the Shrimp Roll, he gave a valiant effort, but didn’t end up eating them all. He said the crunch was nice, but it was just a bit too oniony, which, of course, is kind of the point.

If you are a fan of onion rings, I think these would make a great substitution to the deep fried version you are used to. The coating is crunchy, salty, and has a nice kick to it courtesy of the cayenne. I thought they were really good, but I probably won’t make them again because I don’t typically go for onion rings and, as I’ve said before, I do not like my hands to get gucky. These definitely rate high on the gucky hands meter. By the time I finished, I think half of the chip mixture was stuck to my fingers. Ick.

Oven Baked Onion Rings

4 cups baked potato chips, about 3 1/2 ounces
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup low fat buttermilk
10 tablespoons all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
2 large Vidalia onion, peeled

Preheat oven to 450. Coat a baking sheet lightly with cooking spray and set aside.

Place the potato chips in a food processor and process into fine crumbs, about 20 seconds. Transfer to a shallow bowl, stir in the cayenne, and set aside. In another bowl, combine the buttermilk, 2 tablespoons of the flour, the salt, and pepper, and set aside.

Slice the onions into 1/2-inch thick rounds and separate into rings, keeping only the large, whole rings (reserve the rest of the onion for other uses). You should have 12-14 rings.

Place the remaining 1/2 cup flour in a sealable plastic bag, then add the onions and shake to coat. One at a time, dip the onion rings into the buttermilk mixture, then dip into the potato chip crumbs, coating each ring evenly, and place on the baking sheet. Coat the surface of the rings lightly with canola oil spray and bake until the coating is crisp, about 20 minutes. Season with salt and serve immediately.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 269
4 servings | 4 POINTS

July 22, 2009. recipes.

10 Comments

  1. Erin replied:

    Oh, I would SO love these. But I can’t have chips in the house. I have like zero self control. So you make some and just mail them to me, mkay?!

    ;)

  2. Mary Ann replied:

    Sorry about the high rating on the “gucky hand meter”. That made me laugh. They were tasty though, even if you ever only make them once. Thanks for making them along with me!

  3. pampinnav replied:

    I do have to agree that it does get yucky to make. But for me, the results were worth the yuck factor! And what a trooper Ryan is for eating the onions in whatever you make, even though he’s not such a big fan. Apparently, he’s a big fan of you! :o) Good luck with those PC problems.

  4. Lauryn replied:

    Your onion rings look awesome!! Having computer issues may be the most annoying thing ever, so I feel for you!!!

  5. nick replied:

    “gucky hand meter” = accurate + awesome.

    I *MIGHT* be able to assist you with your computer issues, you can email if you are still having a problem (though in most cases, if it is very complicated, the best thing to do is backup anything important and then nuke the whole thing and do a clean install).

  6. burpexcuzme replied:

    “greasy” comfort food without the grease and the guilt? yes please!!

  7. Amy I. replied:

    Sorry to hear about your computer issues, that can be so frustrating! Your onion rings look fabulous though! :)

  8. Sara replied:

    yeah, these were definitely high on the yucky hands-o-meter. But seriously, how do neither of you like battered deep fried onion rings! Usually batter and deep fry is a surefire way to get vegetable haters to eat their veggies :)

  9. Marthe replied:

    Computer problems suck…. I hate gucky hands too and try to avoid them whenever I can. This time I used two forks: one to get the onion rings in and out of the buttermilk mixture and one to get the onion rings coated with the chips-mixture.

  10. Maria replied:

    gucky hand meter…..so true!
    Nothing worse than computer problems…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

