CEiMB: (Cobb) Salad Dressing

This week, for CEiMB, we were to make a Cobb Salad. Now, I know, you’re looking at the picture above, saying, “Well, Liz, that looks like a bowl of lettuce, not a Cobb Salad.” And you know what? You are completely right. It IS a bowl of lettuce, though I will point out that there is a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese and some dressing there as well. So, here’s the thing, I did not want to totally bail on this week’s recipe, but the best I can offer you is this quasi attempt at a Cobb Salad. By that, I mean I made the dressing.

There were several obstacles to overcome this week. First and foremost, I do not like tomatoes, hard-boiled eggs, or blue cheese which are all called for in the original recipe. There is also the small matter of Ryan staging a mutiny should I ever try to serve him salad, just salad, for dinner. I’m lucky if he eats a couple handfuls of lettuce as a side to dinner; it certainly isn’t going to go over well as his main meal. Finally, on top of studying for final exams (which are over now, yay!), I woke up Monday morning with some sort of bug. I’m not sure where it came from, but I will be glad when it’s completely gone. So, even though it’s late, and not even halfway resembles the actual recipe, I did want to participate this week! :)

While I was making the dressing, Ryan’s face was contorting to express disgust. Even though he had plenty of ravioli and garlic bread to wash it all down with, he was really not looking forward to trying this salad. I will admit the dressing doesn’t exactly look all that appetizing at first unless you are a fan of mustard yellow, which neither of us are. He kept asking me, “What kind of dressing is it?” I wasn’t sure what to tell him because I’m not sure what it’s called; Cobb Salad dressing? (Which is amusing to me because we live in Cobb county, so maybe we would just call it dressing the same way the French do not call them French fries.) Finally I handed him his bowl, and I think he ate maybe half. I ate all of mine, though I do think the dressing would be better on a salad with more ingredients. The dressing itself doesn’t have a ton of flavor so on its own the lettuce salad was a little lacking. I’m sure with avocado, bacon, chicken, cheese, and tons of other unhealthy toppings, this would have been much tastier!

(Cobb) Salad Dressing

3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon spicy brown mustard
1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper

In a small bowl, whisk together ingredients until well combined.

Source: “Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger
4 servings | 3 POINTS

July 31, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. pampinnav replied:

    Well, I admire you for making the dressing and participating. My husband is going through a “I need to lose 5 pounds” phase right now, so he was up for salad for dinner. Not always, though! :o) I thought the dressing was pretty good, though. The whole salad, with all the fixings, was 9 WW points for 3 cups. Not bad for a meal.

  2. sara replied:

    Alright, good effort this week. I would imagine the dressings main job in the salad is for moisture since there are so many flavorful toppings, you wouldn’t want the dressing competing with them. So I can see how this would not be the best for a plain salad. Glad you found some way to participate, even if it was to Ryan’s displeasure :)

  3. Alyssa replied:

    At least you made the effort to make the dressing! A lot of people raved about the dressing, but I wasn’t too sure. It was a little too strong for the salad (with all the ingredients). In my opinion, the salad has so much flavor going on that the last thing it needs is worcheshire and mustard. lol. but regarless, it was good, eggs, avo and all.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

