Beer-Soaked Beef


As you may (or may not) have noticed, there are not a lot of recipes featured here that contain beef, particularly steak of any kind. While it may seem that we don’t use beef for health reasons, it’s actually because up until about a month ago, Ryan didn’t like steak. He didn’t used to eat beef of any kind, then he started eating burgers. He tried steak a few times after that but has never been a fan of the texture. One night, when I hadn’t taken anything out for dinner, we went to the store to find steaks on sale. I urged him to try it one more time, and he loved it. Since then he has asked for steak every week and requested that my mom grill steaks for him for his birthday dinner with my family. Needless to say, he has been converted!

While we haven’t taken to eating steaks every week, I did pick up some flank steak when it was on sale. I’ve never worked with it before so I browsed the internet in search of the perfect recipe. After reading out a few recipe titles to Ryan, he was won over by this one: Beer-Soaked Beef. Beer and steak in the same recipe? He couldn’t resist.

The marinade was really quick to put together, and I let the meat soak for several hours. When I got home, I turned on the broiler, and this is where the plan started to go awry. The recipe says to broil the steak for 3 1/2 minutes on each side for medium rare. Well, I do not eat my meat medium rare. In fact, I don’t like it pink at all. I know true foodies like their steaks still bleeding or something, but I just can’t do it. I’ve tried to eat it, and I’m sure it’s mostly a mental block, but I cannot eat meat that is still pink (let alone red!). So I tried 5 minutes per side, pulled out my trusty meat thermometer, and the meat was still considered “rare”. OK, I put it back in for a while. I’m not sure how long I ended up cooking the meat, but it finally got to the point where I knew it had to be done because it was starting to burn around the edges even though the thermometer still didn’t even read at a safe temperature. Of course, when I went to cut into the meat it was tough and beyond well done. Ick.

Since I usually eat my meat well anyway, this didn’t bother me too much. Ryan hated how tough it was. The ironic part was that I didn’t mind the steak but hated the sauce; he didn’t like the steak but loved the sauce. I think my problem with the sauce is that I used a bottle of Newcastle. While I don’t usually hate that particular brand of beer, it is not my favorite. Once it got cooked, the flavor just condensed and was that much stronger. Since Ryan loves Newcastle, he loved the sauce. Cooking with beer is definitely like cooking with wine: you want to be sure to use something you are willing to drink on its own. Unfortunately, most of the beers I like would not be good on meat, I don’t think. In other words, I doubt we’ll be trying this again. It did get really good reviews online though so pick a beer you like and work with a reliable broiler :)

Beer-Soaked Beef

12 ounces beer
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
1 ½ pounds lean flank steak

In a 9- X 13-inch glass baking dish, combine beer, oil, garlic, lemon juice, sugar, salt and cloves; add steak. Cover dish and marinate in refrigerator, turning once or twice, at least 2 hours and up to 24 hours.

Place a grill pan in broiler; preheat broiler to high. Remove meat from marinade and broil about 3 1/2 minutes per side for medium rare, or longer until desired doneness.* Remove meat from broiler and place meat on a plate; loosely cover with aluminum foil and let stand for about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, place grill pan on stovetop over high heat; carefully pour marinade onto grill pan. Bring to a boil (beer will foam) and cook until all alcohol burns off, about 5 to 7 minutes.

Thinly slice steak against the grain and serve with sauce. Yields about 4 ounces of steak per serving.

Source: Weight Watchers
6 servings | 6 POINTS

August 3, 2009. recipes.

3 Comments

  1. Rachel replied:

    I would be willing to give this a try – if you did try it again with a beer other than Newcastle, what would you use?

  2. sara replied:

    oh, that’s a shame – flank steak is so delicious. I can’t believe Ryan hated steak too. Gosh, how do you feed this man!

  3. sara replied:

    Just saw this and thought of you. This would probably be good on flank steak too:

    http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/07/grilling-beer-marinated-chicken-negra-modelo-tacos-guacamole.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

