Easy Baked Cod and Weeknight Israeli Couscous

Back in April, one of the CEiMB recipes was Balsamic Chicken with Spinach and Couscous (I used orzo, but it was still very good). I remember seeing Sara’s post on imafoodblog and noticing that her couscous looked different from everyone else’s; it was somehow bigger. Not knowing anything about couscous, I had no idea there were different kinds. Just a couple days later, I saw a post for Israeli Couscous with Parsley and Shallots on The Bitten Word and instantly recognized that as the kind of couscous Sara had used.

Since Ryan is not a big fan of the texture of couscous, I thought the bigger, pearl-like pasta might go over a little better, and when I saw a box at Trader Joe’s, I picked it up. I think it sat in the cabinet for a while because I really didn’t know what to do with it. Finally, one night when I really didn’t have anything else to make, I decided to try making it by basically just following the directions on the box but adding a few things for extra flavor. The final dish was delicious; I could have eaten the entire box myself, but luckily, Ryan also liked it.

The cod, on the other hand, was a little lacking. We both really enjoy cod and agreed that this recipe using any other fish would not have been good just because it was so bland. All we really tasted was the fish itself, but the crumb topping did add a nice texture. I poured a little lemon juice on mine; Ryan ate his with bites of couscous. If I were to make this again, I would definitely add more of something. I’m not quite sure what it needed; maybe more onion powder or seasoned bread crumbs would do the trick.

The really nice thing about this dinner, even with the bland fish, is that it was incredibly quick and easy to pull together. Most nights, I’m not too worried about how long things take to cook or what all is involved; that is a luxury of not having a full-time job, I suppose. Then there are those nights that I just do not feel like cooking or spending much time in the kitchen, and this menu is perfect for those occasions. With a little tweaking, this would also be good for serving to guests, but I would probably recommend also serving something colorful since it is a little monochromatic as is (something I did not realize or think about until I took the picture – oops!).

Easy Baked Cod

1 pound cod, cut into 4 pieces
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
⅛ teaspoon onion powder
⅛ teaspoon black pepper
1 ½ tablespoons light butter
⅓ cup bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 425.

Place fish in an 11 x 7-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.

Combine lime juice, mayonnaise, onion powder, and pepper in a small bowl, and spread over fish. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs; drizzle with butter.

Bake for 20 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.

Source: Cooking Light
4 servings | 4 POINTS

Weeknight Israeli Couscous

1 ⅓ cups uncooked Israeli couscous
1 clove garlic, minced
¼ medium onion, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 ¾ cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, and saute until tender. Add garlic; stir and cook until fragrant. Add couscous, toss until couscous is coated, and cook until lightly browned. Add broth, bring to a boil, cook for 12 minutes. Mix in parmesan, and season with salt and pepper to taste.

4 servings | 6 POINTS

August 5, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. applec replied:

    Looks and sounds super. Good weeknight healthy choice.

  2. Caitlin replied:

    This Cod recipe sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

