Broccoli with Lemon-Garlic Crumbs

It seems to me that broccoli is one of those things that people either love or hate. Personally, I’m on the love end of the spectrum. There are very few vegetables that I can say I truly enjoy eating, and broccoli is one of them. I love how versatile it is, the fact that it can be eaten raw or cooked, and the texture of it. I’m also pretty keen on the fact that it is really easy to prepare.

My favorite way to eat broccoli is with a little cheese on top. I mean, really, doesn’t cheese, like bacon, make everything better? On top of not being all that healthy, broccoli with cheese isn’t very sophisticated looking. It’s one of those things I love to eat but would never serve to guests. My second favorite way to eat broccoli is stir-fried with a little garlic, ginger, soy sauce, and chili sauce. As delicious as it is, it’s pretty spicy and doesn’t necessarily lend itself well to all situations.

Since my grandma was in town and coming over for dinner, I decided I needed to find some kind of vegetable to serve alongside our burgers and pasta salad. It was a nice change to have someone else at the table who would eat something green so I really wanted to take the opportunity to put a little effort into the dish while still keeping it pretty simple. This Weight Watchers’ recipe for Broccoli with Lemon-Garlic Crumbs seemed like the perfect solution.

Broccoli sprinkled with crispy bread crumbs and a hint of lemon kissed with garlic sounds divine, and while the flavor was really great, the crispy bread crumbs I was hoping for were nothing more than soggy filler. I’m not sure if I added them too soon after steaming the broccoli and they absorbed the extra water or if the recipe is just flawed. Either way, soggy broccoli is not appealing. We ate it, and I even ate the leftovers, but it definitely wasn’t something I’ll be rushing out to make again any time soon.

Broccoli with Lemon-Garlic Crumbs

1 pound fresh broccoli florets
1 tablespoon butter
1 ½ teaspoons garlic, minced
½ cup panko breadcrumbs
1 teaspoon lemon zest
¼ teaspoon salt

Bring 1 inch of water to a boil in a large pot. Place broccoli in a steamer basket and set over water. Cover pot and steam until broccoli is crisp-tender, about 5 to 6 minutes; drain. Alternatively, you can cook broccoli in microwave.

Meanwhile, melt butter in a medium nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add bread crumbs, increase heat to medium and cook, stirring often, until lightly toasted, about 2 to 3 minutes.

Remove skillet from heat; stir in lemon zest and salt.

Spoon broccoli into a serving bowl and toss with crumbs. Yields about 1 cup of broccoli and 2 tablespoons of crumbs per serving.

Source: Weight Watchers
4 servings | 2 POINTS

August 18, 2009. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Amy I. replied:

    Yum, this looks so good! All of my favorite flavors, plus I love the texture that bread crumbs give to veggie dishes. I’m definitely a broccoli lover :)

  2. sara replied:

    aww, too bad. It does sound good. I am making Ellie’s dirty broccoli tonight which I believe has some sort of bread crumb concoction. I will let you know how it goes.

  3. chayacomfycook replied:

    I love broccoli. Need I say more? I now have a new recipe to try.

  4. Sam@BingeNYC replied:

    I am also on the love end of the broccoli spectrum. This recipe looks delicious.

  5. Carolyn replied:

    OK, this looks delicious. I know what I am making for dinner tonight :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

