CEiMB: Grilled Thai Beef Salad


When I first saw that this week’s CEiMB recipe was for a salad, I was nervous. As good as Grilled Thai Beef Salad sounds, I wasn’t sure how well a salad for dinner was going to go over here. Ryan is definitely coming around as far as vegetables are concerned, but I didn’t think a meal whose majority is green would be a big hit.

Well, I would like to thank Jen of Jen B’s Cooking Carveout for encouraging us to eat this as a meal because Ryan and I both really enjoyed it. I came home from class absolutely starving, and it was fantastic to have dinner ready in just a few minutes. Aside from worrying about Ryan’s reaction, I was also afraid the salad on its own would not satisfy my growling stomach. Luckily, the salad was very filling and got rave reviews. I should have known that piling steak on top of a salad would be a good way to get Ryan to eat more vegetables.

This is a great weeknight meal that comes together very quickly and easily, but there was one small mess-up along the way for me. Instead of grilling the steak then slicing it, I sliced it first because I misread the directions. Oops. Other than making it harder to grill (which I wouldn’t recommend unless you are using an electric grill like I am), I can’t see why this would be a problem. In fact, I think it helped the marinade infuse the meat since I only marinated it for the minimum four hours. Also, due to our recent mishap with flank steak, I used sirloin; there was a sale on Laura’s Lean Beef at my grocery store that I just couldn’t pass up.

Grilled Thai Beef Salad

1 pound lean beef sirloin
3 tablespoons lime juice
3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
3 tablespoons canola oil
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 ½ teaspoons ginger root, grated
1 ½ teaspoons garlic, minced
1 teaspoon red curry paste
5 cups lettuce
1 medium shallot, thinly sliced
1 cup basil, cut into thin strips

Place meat in a sealable plastic bag or small glass dish. In a medium bowl combine lime juice, soy sauce, canola oil, brown sugar, garlic, ginger and red curry paste. Pour half the mixture into the bag with the meat. Seal tightly, and marinate meat in refrigerator at least 4 hours or overnight, turning occasionally. Reserve the rest of the mixture refrigerated, to dress the salad.

Spray grill or grill pan with cooking spray and preheat. Grill steak until medium-rare, about 5 minutes per side, depending on desired doneness. Let rest until room temperature then slice thinly against the grain.

Combine lettuce, sliced shallot, basil and beef in a salad bowl, reserving a few shallots for garnish. Add the reserved dressing and toss to coat. Divide salad among 4 plates and garnish with reserved sliced shallots.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 107
4 servings | 7 POINTS

August 19, 2009. recipes.

12 Comments

  1. Allison replied:

    That sounds excellent! I’ll definitely be trying this!

  2. applec replied:

    Looks great. It was a filling salad. But Ted had the same skepticism as you regarding whether it would fill him up. He decided it wouldn’t and added a whole wheat bun.

  3. sara replied:

    This was really yummy, your salad looks great. And haha, you sliced the steak before cooking – you silly goose.

  4. Lauryn replied:

    Your salad looks great! I loved this as well, though I used chicken instead of beef. This was delicious!

  5. Kayte replied:

    Yes, this was a great salad, and even greater b/c it was so fast to pull out of frig and grill and then dress the salad while it was grilling…what’s not to love about all that simplicity, especially when it didn’t taste simple! A new one for us, one we will make again soon. Yours looks just beautiful!

  6. Alyssa replied:

    I also really enjoyed the flavor. It’s funny you mention a recent incident with flank steak b/c I have a similar story.. didn’t turn out like I planned so I used Top Sirloin.

    Glad you enjoyed it!

  7. chayacomfycook replied:

    What is red curry paste. I did not have a clue. It was good anyway.

  8. Heather Damron replied:

    This was SO good. I’m making this again very soon!

  9. Amy I. replied:

    Yum, looks great! Glad to hear you’re not cilantro fans either ;)

  10. Leslie replied:

    No wonder Ryan liked it…it looks fantastic!

  11. maris replied:

    There was a restaurant near where I went to college and they had a salad that had steak and french fries in it. Talk about defeating the purpose of eating salad!

  12. Jennifer replied:

    Looks great! Thanks for cooking with me this week! I really enjoyed this salad and will definitely be making it again.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

